• Johnny Cash - Old Golden Throat
    (Charly Records  1980  CR300005  Mono)
    Matrix No's: A2/B3 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
     - light crease on top right corner

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    John R. Cash (born J. R. Cash; February 26, 1932 – September 12, 2003) was an American singer-songwriter, guitarist, actor, and author. He is one of the best-selling music artists of all time, having sold more than 90 million records worldwide. Although primarily remembered as a country music icon, his genre-spanning songs and sound embraced rock and roll, rockabilly, blues, folk, and gospel. This crossover appeal won Cash the rare honor of multiple inductions in the Country Music, Rock and Roll, and Gospel Music Halls of Fame.

    Cash was known for his deep, calm bass-baritone voice, the distinctive sound of his Tennessee Three backing band, which is characterized by train-sound guitar rhythms; a rebelliousness coupled with an increasingly somber and humble demeanor, free prison concerts, and a trademark, all-black stage wardrobe, which earned him the nickname "The Man in Black." He traditionally began his concerts by simply introducing himself, "Hello, I'm Johnny Cash," followed by his signature song "Folsom Prison Blues".

    Much of Cash's music contained themes of sorrow, moral tribulation, and redemption, especially in the latter stages of his career. His signature songs include "I Walk the Line", "Folsom Prison Blues", "Ring of Fire", "Get Rhythm", and "Man in Black". He also recorded humorous numbers like "One Piece at a Time" and "A Boy Named Sue"; a duet with his future wife, June Carter, called "Jackson" (followed by many further duets after their marriage); and railroad songs including "Hey, Porter", "Orange Blossom Special" and "Rock Island Line". During the last stage of his career, Cash covered songs by several late 20th-century rock artists, notably "Hurt" by Nine Inch Nails and "Personal Jesus" by Depeche Mode.

    Old Golden Throat is an album by American country singer Johnny Cash.


    A1 Big River 2:28
    A2 Luther's Boogie 2:00
    A3 You Are My Baby 1:57
    A4 Folsom Prison Blues 2:47
    A5 Hey Porter 2:10
    A6 Next In Line 2:42
    A7 Oh, Lonesome Me 2:26
    A8 Belshazah 2:21
    B1 Get Rythm 2:15
    B2 Rock Island Line

    Arranged By – Johnny Cash  Written-By – Traditional

    B3 Country Boy 1:48
    B4 Train Of Love 2:20
    B5 I Walk The Line 2:41
    B6 Katy Too 1:55
    B7 Ballad Of A Teenage Queen 2:08
    B8 Mean-Eyed Cat 2:27


    • Artwork By [Cover Concept & Art] – Jacques Parnell (tracks: A1 to A6, A8, B1, B3 to B6, B8)
    • Backing Vocals – Gene Lowery Singers*
    • Compiled By, Mastered By – Georges Collange
    • Featuring [Personnel] – Tennessee Two*
    • Producer – Sam Philips*
    • Written-By – Don Gibson (tracks: A7), Jack Clement (tracks: B6, B7), Johnny Cash (tracks: A1 to A6, A8, B1, B3 to B6, B8)


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: CR300005
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £6.99

    • Ex Tax: £6.99