• The Notting Hillbillies - Missing...Presumed Having A Good Time
    (Vertigo Records  1990  8426711)
    Matrix No's: A2/B1 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    The Notting Hillbillies was a country rock project formed by Steve Phillips and Brendan Croker with Mark Knopfler, who was then lead guitarist and singer of Dire Straits, and Knopfler's bandmate Guy Fletcher. They made just one album, Missing...Presumed Having a Good Time, released on Vertigo in the UK (Warner Bros. in the US) in 1990, before returning to concentrate on their primary musical outlets. The Notting Hillbillies have reunited several times for charity gigs. In May 1997 the Hillbillies went on an 11 show tour in the UK.

    The Town & Country Club in Leeds on 3 July only featured the Knopfler-Croker-Philips trio. The set list included the only known live performances of two Dire Straits songs : "Ticket To Heaven" and "How Long". The Notting Hillbillies had previously performed "When It Comes to You" in 1990, before it was actually recorded and issued by Dire Straits on their final album On Every Street, in 1991. At the height of their fame, the Notting Hillbillies were the musical guest on the May 19, 1990 episode of Saturday Night Live, hosted by Candace Bergen.

    The concert at The City Hall in Newcastle on 6 July featured Alan Clark on keyboards, his only appearance with the band. Ed Bicknell and Marcus Cliffe were also present. This was the last time that Clark played with Knopfler within a full band.

    In 1993, two shows were performed, both without Guy Fletcher.

    Band line-up members

    • Mark Knopfler: guitar, vocals
    • Guy Fletcher: keyboards, vocals
    • Steve Phillips: guitar, vocals
    • Brendan Croker: guitar, vocals
    • Ed Bicknell: drums - replaced by Danny Cummings for the four 2002 shows.
    • Marcus Cliffe: bass
    • Chris White: Saxophone
    • Paul Franklin: pedal steel (studio album and 1990 tour only)


    A1   Railroad Worksong
    Arranged By – Notting Hillbillies* Composed By – Traditional
    A2   Bewildered
    Composed By – Whitcup Powell*
    A3   Your Own Sweet Way
    Composed By – Mark Knopfler
    A4   Run Me Down
    Arranged By – Notting Hillbillies* Composed By – Traditional
    A5   One Way Gal
    Arranged By – Notting Hillbillies* Composed By – Traditional
    A6   Blues Stay Away From Me
    Composed By – A. Delmore*, H. Glover*, R. Delmore*, W. Raney*
    B1   Will You Miss Me
    Composed By – Steve Phillips (4)
    B2   Please Baby
    Arranged By – Notting Hillbillies* Composed By – Traditional
    B3   Weapon Of Prayer
    Composed By – I. & C. Louvin*
    B4   That's Where I Belong
    Composed By – Brendan Croker
    B5   Feel Like Going Home
    Composed By – Charlie Rich


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 8426711
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £11.99

    • Ex Tax: £11.99