£ $
spacer1homespacer2record collector gradingspacer3customer satisfactionspacer4record cleaningspacer5postage infospacer6packagingspacer7returnsspacer8terms and conditions

Vinyl Music Madness

Rare records and vinyl: Rock, Punk, Indie, Beatles, Reggae, Ska, Rap, Heavy Metal, Soundtracks, 1960s music, Blues, Jazz, Dance, Funk, Soul, Country, Pop, Folk, Disco, 1950s music, Rock'n'Roll, World Music, Electronica, Memorabilia and new and sealed vinyl.

artists include graphic

Pink Floyd, Sex Pistols, The Beatles, King Crimson, Rolling Stones, Buzzcocks, The Smiths, Jimi Hendrix, Kasabian, The Beastie Boys, AC/DC, The Damned, The Mahavishnu Orchestra, Cocteau Twins, Oasis

Product Code: SIR56979
Availability: In Stock
Price: £5.99
Ex Tax: £5.99
Qty:  Add to Cart

David Byrne - The Catherine Wheel
(Sire Records  1981  SIR56979)
Matrix No's: A3/B2

Sleeve in Excellent condition
 - some wear to edges/corners & small split in bottom
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT- condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

David Byrne (born May 14, 1952) is a Scottish musician and artist, best known as a founding member and principal songwriter of the American new wave band Talking Heads, which was active between 1975 and 1991. Since then, Byrne has released his own solo recordings and worked with various media including film, photography, opera, and non-fiction. He has received Grammy, Oscar, and Golden Globe awards and been inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The Catherine Wheel is David Byrne's musical score commissioned by Twyla Tharp for her dance project. The Catherine Wheel premiered September 22, 1981, at the Winter Garden Theatre in New York City.

The tracks "Big Blue Plymouth", "My Big Hands", "Big Business", and "What a Day That Was", were performed live by Talking Heads in 1982 and 1983; the latter two appear in their Stop Making Sense film, and "What a Day That Was" appears on the album.

Track listing

LP track listing

All songs written by David Byrne, except as indicated.

Side one
  1. "His Wife Refused" – 4:26
  2. "Two Soldiers" (music: Byrne, Brian Eno) – 4:45
  3. "The Red House" – 3:17
  4. "My Big Hands (Fall Through the Cracks)" – 2:45
  5. "Big Business" (lyrics: Byrne, music: Byrne, John Chernoff) – 5:16
Side two
  1. "Eggs in a Briar Patch" – 3:31
  2. "Poison" – 2:38
  3. "Cloud Chamber" – 2:42
  4. "What a Day That Was" – 5:32
  5. "Big Blue Plymouth (Eyes Wide Open)" – 4:45
  6. "Light Bath" – 1:08


"His Wife Refused"
  • Adrian Belew – steel drum guitar
  • David Byrne – vocals, bass, guitars
  • John Chernoff – gung gong
  • Yogi Horton – drums
  • Bernie Worrell – mini Moog, piano
"Two Soldiers"
  • Adrian Belew – guitars
  • David Byrne – basses, guitar, OBX, primetime
  • John Chernoff – congas
  • Brian Eno – bass, piano
  • Yogi Horton – drums
"The Red House"
  • David Byrne – basses, guitars, prophet
  • Brian Eno – prophet scream
  • Yogi Horton – drums
"My Big Hands"
  • David Byrne – vocals, bass, guitars, percussion, prophet
  • Yogi Horton – drums
"Big Business"
  • David Byrne – vocals, bass, fierce and high guitars
  • John Chernoff – galloping guitar
  • Bernie Worrell – clavinet
"Eggs in a Briar Patch"
  • Adrian Belew – floating guitars
  • David Byrne – guitars, horses
  • John Chernoff – gung gong
  • Brian Eno – bass, vibes
  • Jerry Harrison – clavinet
  • Yogi Horton – drums
  • David Byrne – vocals, bass, guitars, mini synthesizer, prophet strings
  • Dolette McDonald – vocals
"Cloud Chamber"
  • David Byrne – kitchen metals
  • Jerry Harrison – large drum
  • Twyla Tharp – water pot
"What a Day That Was"
  • David Byrne – vocals, bass, guitars, synthesizers
  • John Cooksey – drums
  • Steve Scales – congas
"Big Blue Plymouth"
  • David Byrne – vocals, guitars
  • Sue Halloran – vocals
  • Yogi Horton – concert toms, drums
"Light Bath"
  • David Byrne – triggered flutes
  • John Chernoff – percussion

Vinyl Music Madness 2012 • Vinyl Music Madness Ltd. 6 Canbury Park Road, Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey, KT2 6JX. United Kingdom • Tel +44 (0) 20 8546 3126 • Web design by NAD