• The Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour
    (Capitol Records  SMAL2835)
    Pressed for Singapore, Malaysia & Hong Kong

    Vinyl in Excellent/Very Good+ condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl which do give pops/crackles but sound quality is excellent overall)

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    - very light crease on top right corner
    No Booklet

    The Beatles were an English rock band, formed in Liverpool in 1960. With members John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr, they became widely regarded as the foremost and most influential act of the rock era. Rooted in skiffle, beat, and 1950s rock and roll, the Beatles later experimented with several musical styles, ranging from pop ballads and Indian music to psychedelia and hard rock, often incorporating classical elements and unconventional recording techniques in innovative ways. In the early 1960s, their enormous popularity first emerged as "Beatlemania", but as the group's music grew in sophistication, led by primary songwriters Lennon and McCartney, they came to be perceived as an embodiment of the ideals shared by the counterculture of the 1960s.

    The Beatles built their reputation playing clubs in Liverpool and Hamburg over a three-year period from 1960, with Stuart Sutcliffe initially serving as bass player. The core of Lennon, McCartney and Harrison went through a succession of drummers, including Pete Best, before asking Starr to join them. Manager Brian Epstein moulded them into a professional act, and producer George Martin guided and developed their recordings, greatly expanding their popularity in the United Kingdom after their first hit, "Love Me Do", in late 1962. They acquired the nickname "the Fab Four" as Beatlemania grew in Britain the next year, and by early 1964 became international stars, leading the "British Invasion" of the United States pop market. From 1965 onwards, the Beatles produced increasingly innovative recordings, including the albums Rubber Soul (1965), Revolver (1966), Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967), The Beatles (commonly known as the White Album, 1968) and Abbey Road (1969). After their break-up in 1970, they each enjoyed successful musical careers of varying lengths. McCartney and Starr, the surviving members, remain musically active. Lennon was shot and killed in December 1980, and Harrison died of lung cancer in November 2001.

    The Beatles are the best-selling band in history, with estimated sales of over 600 million records worldwide. They have had more number-one albums on the British charts and sold more singles in the UK than any other act. According to the RIAA, the Beatles are also the best-selling music artists in the United States, with 178 million certified units. In 2008, the group topped Billboard magazine's list of the all-time most successful "Hot 100" artists; as of 2016, they hold the record for most number-one hits on the Hot 100 chart with twenty. They have received ten Grammy Awards, an Academy Award for Best Original Song Score and fifteen Ivor Novello Awards. The group was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988, and all four were inducted individually from 1994 to 2015. They were also collectively included in Time magazine's compilation of the twentieth century's 100 most influential people.

    Magical Mystery Tour is a double EP and LP by the English rock group the Beatles, produced by George Martin, both including the six-song soundtrack to the 1967 film of the same name. The material was released in the United Kingdom on 8 December 1967 as a six-track double EP on the Parlophone label; in the United States the record, released on 27 November 1967, was an eleven-track LP compiled by Capitol Records, adding the band's 1967 single releases. The EP was also released in Germany, France, Spain, Yugoslavia, Australia and Japan. The first official release of the recordings in the UK as an eleven-track LP did not occur until 1976.

    The soundtrack was a critical and commercial success, a #1 album in the US and Grammy-nominated, despite the widespread media criticism of the Magical Mystery Tour film.

    In 1987 when the Beatles updated its entire recorded canon for digital Compact Disc release, the track-listing of the 1967 US LP release was adopted as the official "core catalogue" version of the Magical Mystery Tour recordings rather than the six-track 1967 UK release which would not have been a practical configuration in the CD era. The album was remastered 9 September 2009 for the first time since its CD release.

    Track listing


    All songs written and composed by Lennon–McCartney except where noted. 

    Side one: Film soundtrack  
    No. Title Lead vocals Length  
    1. "Magical Mystery Tour"   McCartney with Lennon 2:48
    2. "The Fool on the Hill"   McCartney 3:00
    3. "Flying" (John Lennon/Paul McCartney/George Harrison/Richard Starkey) (Instrumental) 2:16
    4. "Blue Jay Way" (Harrison) Harrison 3:50
    5. "Your Mother Should Know"   McCartney 2:33
    6. "I Am the Walrus"   Lennon 4:35
    Side two: 1967 singles  
    No. Title Lead vocals Length  
    1. "Hello, Goodbye"   McCartney 3:24
    2. "Strawberry Fields Forever"   Lennon 4:05
    3. "Penny Lane"   McCartney 3:00
    4. "Baby, You're a Rich Man"   Lennon 3:07
    5. "All You Need Is Love"   Lennon 3:57
    Total length:


    • John Lennon – vocals, guitar, keyboards (acoustic and electric pianos, mellotron, organ, clavioline), harmonica on "The Fool on the Hill"
    • Paul McCartney – vocals, bass, piano, mellotron, recorder on "The Fool on the Hill"
    • George Harrison – vocals, guitar, organ, harmonica on "The Fool on the Hill"
    • Ringo Starr – drums and percussion
    • Geoff Emerick & Ken Scott
    Additional musicians
    • "Magical Mystery Tour" – Mal Evans and Neil Aspinall on percussion, David Mason, Elgar Howarth, Roy Copestake and John Wilbraham on trumpets
    • "The Fool on the Hill" – Christoper Taylor, Richard Taylor and Jack Ellory on flute[24]
    • "I Am the Walrus" – Sidney Sax, Jack Rothstein, Ralph Elman, Andrew McGee, Jack Greene, Louis Stevens, John Jezzard and Jack Richards on violins, Lionel Ross, Eldon Fox, Brian Martin and Terry Weil on cellos and Neill Sanders, Tony Tunstall and Morris Miller on horns, Peggie Allen, Wendy Horan, Pat Whitmore, Jill Utting, June Day, Sylvia King, Irene King, G. Mallen, Fred Lucas, Mike Redway, John O'Neill, F. Dachtler, Allan Grant, D. Griffiths, J. Smith and J. Fraser on backing vocals
    • "Hello, Goodbye" – Ken Essex, Leo Birnbaum on violas.
    • "Strawberry Fields Forever" – Mal Evans on percussion, Tony Fisher, Greg Bowen, Derek Watkins and Stanley Roderick on trumpets and John Hall, Derek Simpson, Norman Jones on cellos.
    • "Penny Lane" – Ray Swinfield, P. Goody, Manny Winters and Dennis Walton on flutes, Leon Calvert, Freddy Clayton, Bert Courtley and Duncan Campbell on trumpets, Dick Morgan and Mike Winfield on English horns, Frank Clarke on double bass and David Mason on piccolo trumpet
    • "Baby, You're a Rich Man" – Eddie Kramer on vibraphone
    • "All You Need Is Love" – George Martin on piano, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Marianne Faithfull, Keith Moon, Eric Clapton, Pattie Boyd Harrison, Jane Asher, Mike McCartney, Maureen Starkey, Graham Nash and wife, Gary Leeds and Hunter Davies on backing vocals, Sidney Sax, Patrick Halling, Eric Bowie and Jack Holmes on violins, Rex Morris and Don Honeywill on sax, David Mason and Stanley Woods on trumpets, Evan Watkins and Henry Spain on horns, Jack Emblow on accordion and Brian Martin on cello

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: SMAL2835
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £27.99

    • Ex Tax: £27.99