• John Mayall - Empty Rooms
    (Polydor Records  1970  583580)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1- UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
     - some wear to edges/corners - title partially worn away on spine
    No Insert

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    John Mayall, OBE (born 29 November 1933) is an English blues singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist, whose musical career spans over fifty years. In the 1960s, he was the founder of John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers, a band which has included Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce, Peter Green, John McVie, Mick Fleetwood, Mick Taylor, Don "Sugarcane" Harris, Harvey Mandel, Larry Taylor, Aynsley Dunbar, Hughie Flint, Jon Hiseman, Dick Heckstall-Smith, Andy Fraser, Johnny Almond, Walter Trout, Coco Montoya and Buddy Whittington.

    Empty Rooms is a studio album by blues musician John Mayall, released in late 1969 on Polydor. It is a follow-up to the live album The Turning Point, released earlier in the year with the same musicians: Jon Mark on acoustic guitar, Johnny Almond on saxophones and flute, and Stephen Thompson on bass. John Mayall sings, plays harmonica, guitars and keyboards (including a moog synthesizer). Former Canned Heat bassist Larry Taylor guests as second bass player on one track, "To a Princess," improvising with Thompson on an unusual bass duet. The absence of a drummer leaves the rhythm rather fluid and the resulting sound is unusual, even for a John Mayall album. The songs, all written by Mayall, mostly addressed his romance with photographer Nancy Throckmorton, a theme he would pursue further on USA Union.

    Empty Rooms was the only known set of studio recordings by the Turning Point lineup, which broke up shortly after the album was recorded. Larry Taylor, however, would join Mayall as one of three American musicians (electric guitarist Harvey Mandel, also a former member of Canned Heat; and, electric violinist Sugarcane Harris would complete the new lineup) to join him for USA Union.

    Track listing

    1. "Don't Waste My Time" - 3:10
    2. "Plan Your Revolution" - 2:38
    3. "Don't Pick a Flower" - 3:53
    4. "Something New" - 4:40
    5. "People Cling Together" - 2:53
    6. "Waiting for the Right Time" - 5:36
    7. "Thinking of My Woman" - 2:29
    8. "Counting the Days" - 5:33
    9. "When I Go" - 4:46
    10. "Many Miles Apart" - 2:56
    11. "To a Princess" - 3:34
    12. "Lying In My Bed" - 4:21


    • John Mayall - vocals, harmonica, guitars, keyboards
    • Jon Mark - guitar
    • John Almond - saxophone, flute
    • Larry Taylor - bass
    • Steven Thompson - bass


    • Engineers - Barry Ainsworth, Eddie Kramer, Eddy Offord, John Judnich

    Jon Mark and Johnny Almond would leave the group just after the recording of this album, to form the duo Mark-Almond.

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 583580
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £10.99

    • Ex Tax: £10.99