• Charlie Mingus - Town Hall Concert
    (Blue Note Records  1978  BNS40034)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Very Good+ condition
    - some wear to edges/corners, some ringwear at top - back cover has message written in top left corner and numbers in top right corner

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

    Charles Mingus Jr. (April 22, 1922 – January 5, 1979), often referred to mononymously as "Mingus", and occasionally as “Baron Mingus”, was an American jazz double bassist, pianist, composer and bandleader. A major proponent of collective improvisation, he is considered to be one of the greatest jazz musicians and composers in history, with a career spanning three decades and collaborations with other jazz musicians such as Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, Dizzy Gillespie, and Herbie Hancock.

    Mingus's compositions continue to be played by contemporary musicians ranging from the repertory bands Mingus Big Band, Mingus Dynasty, and Mingus Orchestra, to the high school students who play the charts and compete in the Charles Mingus High School Competition. In 1993, the Library of Congress acquired Mingus's collected papers—including scores, sound recordings, correspondence and photos—in what they described as "the most important acquisition of a manuscript collection relating to jazz in the Library's history".


    A1   Clark In The Dark 2:50
    A2   Epitaph Part 1 6:45
    A3   Epitaph Part 2 3:32
    B1   Freedom 3:37
    B2   My Search 8:05
    B3   Don't Come Back 3:00
    B4   Finale 7:35


    • Artwork By – Greg Zerovnik
    • Performer – Clifford Jordan, Dannie Richmond, Eric Dolphy, Jaki Byard, John Coles*
    • Written-By – Charles Mingus


    Recorded at the Tyrone Guthrie Theater, Minneapolis

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: BNS40034
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £10.99

    • Ex Tax: £10.99