• Prince - Sign O The Times
    (Warner Bros Records  1987  WX88)
    Matrix No's: A5/B5/C2/D1

    Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Inner Sleeves in Nr MINT condition

    Prince Rogers Nelson (June 7, 1958 – April 21, 2016), known by his stage name Prince, was an American singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and actor. Prince was renowned as an innovator and was widely known for his eclectic work, flamboyant stage presence, and wide vocal range. He was widely regarded as the pioneer of Minneapolis sound. His music combined rock, R&B, soul, funk, hip hop, disco, psychedelia, jazz, and pop.

    Prince was born in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and developed an interest in music at an early age, writing his first song at age seven. After recording songs with his cousin's band 94 East, 19-year-old Prince recorded several unsuccessful demo tapes before releasing his debut album For You in 1978, under the guidance of manager Owen Husney. His 1979 album Prince went platinum due to the success of the singles "Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad?" and "I Wanna Be Your Lover". His next three records—Dirty Mind (1980), Controversy (1981), and 1999 (1982)—continued his success, showcasing Prince's trademark of prominently sexual lyrics and incorporation of elements of funk, dance, and rock music. In 1984, he began referring to his backup band as The Revolution and released Purple Rain, which served as the soundtrack to his film debut of the same name. A prolific songwriter, Prince in the 1980s wrote songs for and produced work by many other acts, often under pseudonyms.

    After releasing the albums Around the World in a Day (1985) and Parade (1986), The Revolution disbanded and Prince released the critically acclaimed double album Sign "O" the Times (1987) as a solo artist. He released three more solo albums before debuting The New Power Generation band in 1991. He changed his stage name in 1993 to an unpronounceable symbol (Prince logo.svg), also known as the "Love Symbol". He then began releasing new albums at a faster pace to remove himself from contractual obligations to Warner Bros.; he released five records between 1994 and 1996 before signing with Arista Records in 1998. In 2000, he began referring to himself as "Prince" again. He released 15 albums since then, including his latest, HITnRUN Phase One, which was first released exclusively on the Tidal streaming service on September 7, 2015 before being released on CD on September 15, 2015 by NPG Records.

    Prince sold over 100 million records worldwide, making him one of the best-selling artists of all time. He won seven Grammy Awards, a Golden Globe, and an Academy Award. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2004, the first year of his eligibility. Rolling Stone has ranked Prince at number 27 on its list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.

    He died at his Paisley Park recording studio and home in Chanhassen, Minnesota, near Minneapolis, on April 21, 2016, after suffering flu-like symptoms for several weeks.

    Sign o' the Times, stylized as Sign "☮" the Times, is the ninth studio album by American recording artist Prince. Its songs were largely recorded during 1986 to 1987 in sessions for albums Prince ultimately aborted—Dream Factory, Camille, and Crystal Ball. It was released on March 31, 1987 by Paisley Park Records and Warner Bros. Records. The album is the follow-up to Parade (1986), and Prince's first "solo" album following his departure from The Revolution; the symbol between the quotes is a peace sign.

    The album's music draws on funk, soul, psychedelic pop, and rock music. Sign o' the Times features lyrical themes such as the depressing state of the world in the title track, gender identity/androgyny in "If I Was Your Girlfriend", party funk in "Housequake", sexual lust in "It", replacing a loved one in "I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man", and spiritual enlightenment in "The Cross". The album also had an accompanying concert film of the same name.

    Track listing

    All songs written and composed by Prince, except where noted. 

    Disc 1  
    No. Title Length  
    1. "Sign o' the Times"   4:57
    2. "Play in the Sunshine"   5:05
    3. "Housequake"   4:42
    4. "The Ballad of Dorothy Parker"   4:01
    5. "It"   5:09
    6. "Starfish and Coffee" (Prince, Susannah Melvoin) 2:50
    7. "Slow Love" (Prince, Carole Davis) 4:22
    8. "Hot Thing"   5:39
    9. "Forever in My Life"   3:30
    Total length:
    Disc 2  
    No. Title Length  
    1. "U Got the Look" (featuring Sheena Easton) 3:47
    2. "If I Was Your Girlfriend"   5:01
    3. "Strange Relationship"   4:01
    4. "I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man"   6:29
    5. "The Cross"   4:48
    6. "It's Gonna Be a Beautiful Night" (Prince, Doctor Fink, Eric Leeds) 9:01
    7. "Adore"   6:30
    Total length:


    • Susannah Melvoin – backing vocals on "Play In the Sunshine", "Starfish and Coffee" and "Sign o' the Times", co-lead vocals on "It's Gonna Be a Beautiful Night"
    • Eric Leeds – all saxophones
    • Atlanta Bliss – all trumpets
    • Sheena Easton – co-lead vocals on "U Got the Look"
    • Sheila E. – drums and percussion on "U Got the Look", drums on "Transmississippirap" and "It's Gonna Be a Beautiful Night"
    • Clare Fischer – orchestral arrangements for "Slow Love"
    • Wendy Melvoin – guitar and backing vocals on "Slow Love", tambourine and congas on "Strange Relationship"
    • Lisa Coleman – backing vocals on "Slow Love", sitar and wooden flute on "Strange Relationship"
    • Miko Weaver – lead guitar on "It's Gonna Be a Beautiful Night"
    • Jill Jones – co-lead vocals on "It's Gonna Be a Beautiful Night"
    • The Revolution – performance of "It's Gonna Be a Beautiful Night"
    • Gilbert Davison, Todd Hermann, Coke Johnson, Brad Marsh, Mike Soltys, Susan Rogers and "the Penguin" – party voices on "Housequake"
    • Greg Brooks, Wally Safford, Jerome Benton and "6000 wonderful Parisians" – backing vocals on "It's Gonna Be a Beautiful Night"
    • Prince – all other vocals and instruments
    • Susan Rogers – engineer
    • Coke Johnson – engineer
    • Bernie Grundman – mastering
    • Jeff Katz – photography
    • Laura LiPuma – art direction
    • Cavallo, Ruffalo and Fargnoli – personal management

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: WX88
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £32.99

    • Ex Tax: £32.99