• Double Exposure - Ten Percent
    (Salsoul Records  1976  SZS5503)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
     - some slight wear to edges/corner

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Double Exposure is an American, Philadelphia-based  disco  group. They are best known for their 1976 hit, "Ten Percent".

    The group formed in 1961 with Leonard "Butch" Davis, Charles Whittington, Jimmy Williams and Joe Harris. They were originally known as the United Image and released two singles, "Love's Creeping Up on Me" on Stax Records in 1971 and "The African Bump" on Branding Iron Records in 1972.

    They were signed to Salsoul Records in 1975 and released their debut album, Ten Percent in 1976. The album featured the title track, which was remixed by Walter Gibbons and reached No. 54 on the Billboard Hot 100 and No. 2 on the dance/disco charts. The tracks "Everyman (Has to Carry His Own Weight) and "My Love Is Free" were also popular club songs.

    In 2001, a dance group called M&S used samples from Double Exposure's "Everyman" in their song called "Salsoul Nugget".

    In September 2008, they recorded new material an Eli/Dixon/Green composition called "Soul Recession"/Soultronics Records at Eli's Studio E (The Grooveyard) facility in Philadelphia. Some original Salsoul/Philly/TSOP (The Sound of Philadelphia)/MFSB (Gamble and Huff) session musicians have appeared on "Soul Recession", including Earl Young, Bobby Eli, Dennis Harris, T.G. Conway, Jimmy Williams and Rikki Hicks.

    Jimmy Williams died in October 2016.

    Ten Percent is the debut studio album recorded by American male vocal quartet Double Exposure, released in 1976 on the Salsoul label.

    Track listing

    Side one
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    1. "Ten Percent" Allan Felder, T.G. Conway 6:51
    2. "Gonna Give My Love Away" Scott Hawes, James Hendricks 3:04
    3. "Everyman" Allan Felder, Bunny Sigler 7:27
    Side two
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    4. "Baby I Need Your Loving" Holland–Dozier–Holland 5:26
    5. "Just Can't Say Hello" Vincent Montana, Jr., Ron Walker 3:10
    6. "My Love Is Free" Allan Felder, T.G. Conway 7:00
    7. "Pick Me" Allan Felder, Bruce Gray, Lettie Holden 3:20


    • Leonard "Butch" Davis, Charles Whittington, Joseph Harris, James Williams – vocals
    • Earl Young – drums
    • Ron Baker – bass
    • Vincent Montana, Jr. – vibes
    • Larry Washington – congas
    • Norman Harris, Bobby Eli, T.J. Tindall – guitars
    • Carlton Kent, Ron Kersey, Bunny Sigler, T.G. Conway, Bruce Hawes – keyboards
    • Robert Hartzell, Rocco Bene – trumpets
    • Robert Moore, Edward Cascarella, Richard Genovese, Frederick Joiner – trombones
    • Jeffery Kirschen, Milton Phibbs – French horns
    • John Wilson – flugelhorn
    • Don Renaldo (Christine Reeves, Americus Mungiole, Rudolph Malizia, Lance Elbeck, Charles Apollonia, Richard Jones) – violins
    • Anthony Sinagoga, Davis Barnett, Peter Nocella – violas
    • Romeo Di Stefano, Larry Gold, Patricia Weimer – cellos
    • Bunny Harris – tambourine
    • Barbara Ingram, Evette Benton, Carla Benson – background vocals


    • Norman Harris, Bruce Hawes, Ron Baker, Earl Young, Vincent Montana, Jr. – producers
    • Joe Cayre, Stan Cayre, Ken Cayre – executive producers
    • Carl Paruolo, Arthur Stoppe, Jim Gallagher, Kenny Present, Jeff Stewart, Peter Humphreys, Dirk Devlin – engineers
    • Walter Gibbons, Ken Cayre – mixing
    • Al Brown mastering
    • Allan Tannenbaum – cover photography
    • Hank Dunning – backline photography
    • Karen Bernath – design
    • Paula Bisacca – art direction


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: SZS5503
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £23.99

    • Ex Tax: £23.99