• Linda Ronstadt - Greatest Hits
    (Asylum Records  1976  K53055)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
    - some light rubbing
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition


    Linda Maria Ronstadt (born July 15, 1946) is an American popular music singer known for singing in a wide range of genres including rock, country, jazz, light opera, and Latin. She has earned 11 Grammy Awards, three American Music Awards, two Academy of Country Music awards, an Emmy Award, and an ALMA Award, and many of her albums have been certified gold, platinum or multiplatinum in the United States and internationally. She has also earned nominations for a Tony Award and a Golden Globe award. She was awarded the Latin Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award by The Latin Recording Academy in 2011 and also awarded the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award by The Recording Academy in 2016. She was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in April 2014. On July 28, 2014, she was awarded the National Medal of Arts and Humanities.

    In total, she has released over 30 studio albums and 15 compilation or greatest hits albums. Ronstadt charted 38 Billboard Hot 100 singles, with 21 reaching the top 40, 10 in the top 10, three at number 2, and "You're No Good" at number 1. This success did not translate to the UK, with only her single "Blue Bayou" reaching the UK Top 40.[17] Her duet with Aaron Neville, "Don't Know Much", peaked at number 2 in December 1989.[18] In addition, she has charted 36 albums, 10 top-10 albums and three number 1 albums on the Billboard Pop Album Chart. Her autobiography, Simple Dreams: A Musical Memoir, was published in September 2013. It debuted in the Top 10 on The New York Times Best Seller list.

    Ronstadt has collaborated with artists in diverse genres, including Bette Midler, Billy Eckstine, Frank Zappa, Rosemary Clooney, Flaco Jiménez, Philip Glass, Warren Zevon, Emmylou Harris, Gram Parsons, Dolly Parton, Neil Young, Paul Simon, Johnny Cash, and Nelson Riddle. She has lent her voice to over 120 albums and has sold more than 100 million records, making her one of the world's best-selling artists of all time. Christopher Loudon, of Jazz Times, wrote in 2004 that Ronstadt is "blessed with arguably the most sterling set of pipes of her generation."

    After completing her last live concert in late 2009, Ronstadt retired in 2011. She was diagnosed with Parkinson's disease in December 2012, which left her unable to sing.

    Greatest Hits is Linda Ronstadt's first major compilation album, released at the end of 1976 for the holiday shopping season. It includes material from both her Capitol Records and Asylum Records output, and goes back to 1967 for The Stone Poneys' hit "Different Drum."

    It remains the biggest-selling album of Ronstadt's career, being certified seven times Platinum (over 7 million US copies shipped) by the Recording Industry Association of America in America alone, with 1.87 million units consumed after 1991 when SoundScan started tracking sales. It peaked at No. 6 on the main Billboard album chart and also reached No. 2 on Billboard's Top Country Albums chart, where it remained for over three years.

    The album was criticized by the Rolling Stone Record Guide for being "premature," as Ronstadt continued to have record-breaking mainstream successes for many years following this release. By the time this collection came out, however, Ronstadt had already been recording hit records (as a solo artist and with the Stone Poneys) for a decade, and there were many examples of other artists releasing greatest hits albums much sooner, such as Elvis Presley.

    In terms of being released while the performer was still in the midst of their career, this collection is unusual for a major artist in that it compiled works from two unrelated labels thanks to, as the sleeve states, a "special arrangement" between Asylum and Capitol; this overlap mirrors the situation in which Ronstadt briefly alternated releasing albums between Capitol and Asylum in 1973-74 in order to fulfil her contract with Capitol.

    Track listing

    Original release

    Side one
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    1. "You're No Good" Clint Ballard Jr. 3:44
    2. "Silver Threads and Golden Needles" Jack Rhodes, Dick Reynolds 2:20
    3. "Desperado" Glenn Frey, Don Henley 3:30
    4. "Love Is a Rose" Neil Young 2:46
    5. "That'll Be the Day" Jerry Allison, Buddy Holly, Norman Petty 2:32
    6. "Long, Long Time" Gary White 4:21
    Side two
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    1. "Different Drum" (with The Stone Poneys) Mike Nesmith 2:45
    2. "When Will I Be Loved" Phil Everly 2:05
    3. "Love Has No Pride" Eric Kaz, Libby Titus 4:10
    4. "Heat Wave" Holland–Dozier–Holland 2:46
    5. "It Doesn't Matter Anymore" Paul Anka 3:26
    6. "Tracks of My Tears" Smokey Robinson, Warren Moore, Marv Tarplin 3:12


    From the Liner Notes on the Original Vinyl Album.

    • Peter Asher: Cabasa, Cowbell, Trombone and Shaker, Hand Claps, Wood Block, and Percussion.
    • Ed Black: Guitar, Steel Guitar
    • Michael Botts: Drums
    • Mike Bowden: Bass
    • Richard Bowden: Electric Guitar
    • John Boylan: Keyboards
    • Richard Burden: Guitar
    • John Connor: Harmonica
    • Dan Dugmore: Steel Guitar
    • Kenny Edwards: Acoustic Guitar, Bass, Backing Vocal
    • Chris Ethridge: Bass
    • Jim Fadden: Harmonica
    • Don Francisco: Backing Vocals
    • Andrew Gold: Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocal, Drums, Electric Guitar, Keyboards, Percussion, Tambourine, Piano, Arp, Congas, Hand Claps
    • Jim Gordon: Saxophone
    • Gib Guilbeau: Fiddle
    • Ginger Holliday: Backing Vocal
    • Mary Holliday: Backing Vocal
    • Andy Johnson: Electric Guitar
    • Mac Johnson: Trumpet
    • David Kemper: Drums
    • Clyde King: Backing Vocals
    • Sneaky Pete Kleinow: Steel Guitar
    • Danny Kortchmar: Electric Guitar
    • Russ Kunkel: Drums
    • Bernie Leadon: Acoustic Guitar
    • Daryl Leonard: Trumpet
    • David Lindley: Fiddle
    • Gail Martin: Trombone
    • Shirley Matthews: Backing Vocals
    • Marty McCall: Backing Vocals
    • Mickey McGee: Drums
    • Weldon Myrick: Steel Guitar
    • Spooner Oldham: Piano
    • Herb Pedersen: Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocal, Banjo
    • Norbert Putnam: Bass, Harpsichord
    • Don Randi: Harpsichord
    • Lyle Ritz: Concertmaster
    • Linda Ronstadt: Vocals, Tambourine, Hand Claps, Backing Vocals
    • John David Souther: Guitar
    • Buddy Spicher: Fiddle
    • Dennis St. John: Drums
    • Nino Tempo: Saxophone
    • Al Viola: Acoustic Guitar
    • Waddy: Electric Guitar
    • Pete Wade: Guitar
    • Bob Warford: Acoustic Guitar


    • Peter Asher: 1, 4, 5, 8,10,11,12
    • John Boylan: 9
    • John David Souther: 2,3
    • Elliot F. Mazer: 6
    • Nikolas Venet: 7


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: K53055
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £3.99

    • Ex Tax: £3.99