• Bobby Brown - Don't Be Cruel
    (MCA Records  1988  MCF3425)
    Matrix No's: A2/B2 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Robert Barisford Brown (born February 5, 1969) is an American singer, songwriter, rapper, dancer and actor. Brown, alongside frequent collaborator Teddy Riley, is noted as a pioneer of new jack swing; a fusion of hip hop and R&B. Brown started his career in the R&B and pop group New Edition, from its inception in 1981 until his exit from the group in December 1985.

    Starting a solo career, Brown enjoyed commercial and critical success with his second album Don't Be Cruel (1988) which spawned five Billboard Hot 100 top 10 singles including the number one hit "My Prerogative", and the Grammy Award-winning "Every Little Step". In 1989, Brown contributed two songs to the soundtrack of Ghostbusters II. In 1992, Brown married singer Whitney Houston, with whom he had a daughter named Bobbi Kristina Brown. The couple's drug abuse and domestic disputes made them tabloid fodder.

    Brown's next album Bobby (1992) spawned several hit singles including "Humpin' Around", "Get Away," and "Good Enough." However, sales of Bobby did not match its predecessor. Some surmise that this may have been due to Brown's recent marriage to Houston , and his decision to take a break from the business for reasons involving his marriage and impending new-fatherhood.

    Brown also starred in films such as A Thin Line Between Love and Hate and Two Can Play That Game. He returned to New Edition for a reunion album and tour from 1996 to 1997, and returned with all six members for another stint in 2005. Brown and Houston starred in the 2005 reality show Being Bobby Brown, and divorced two years later in 2007.

    Don't Be Cruel is the second studio album by American singer Bobby Brown. It was released in the United States on June 20, 1988 by MCA Records. Brown changed producers for this album, and worked extensively with hit-making songwriting and production duo Babyface and L.A. Reid. The album is dedicated to Brown's deceased best friend, James "Jimbo" Flint, who was stabbed to death when Brown was aged 11. Don't Be Cruel incorporates new jack swing, R&B, funk, dance and soul.

    Don't Be Cruel peaked at number one on the Billboard 200 and included five top 10 Billboard Hot 100 hits, with "My Prerogative" being a number-one hit. Three of the singles also reached number one on Billboard's Hot R&B Songs chart. "My Prerogative" was also the second-biggest single of 1989, ranking at number two on the Billboard Year-End Hot 100 Singles of 1989. The album also spent a total of 11 non-consecutive weeks atop the Billboard R&B Albums chart over the course of 1988 and 1989. Internationally, it reached number one in Ireland and the top five in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

    At the 32nd Grammy Awards, Brown won Best Male R&B Vocal Performance for "Every Little Step". Don't Be Cruel received extremely positive reviews from music critics. It was far more successful than Brown's debut album, spending a total of six weeks on top of the Billboard 200 and being the best-selling album of 1989 in the United States. On April 28, 1995 it was certified 7× Platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). The album sold over 12 million copies worldwide in total. In 2015, Billboard ranked Don't Be Cruel at number 82 on its list of the Greatest of All Time Billboard 200 Albums.

    Track listing

    No. Title Writer(s) Producer(s) Length
    1. "Cruel Prelude"
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    2. "Don't Be Cruel"
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    • Daryl Simmons
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    3. "My Prerogative"
    • Bobby Brown
    • Teddy Riley
    • Aaron Hall
    • Gene Griffin
    • Bobby Brown (co.)
    4. "Roni" Babyface
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    5. "Rock Wit'cha"
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    6. "Every Little Step"
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    7. "I'll Be Good to You"
    • Bobby Brown
    • Teddy Riley
    • Aaron Hall
    • Gene Griffin
    • Bobby Brown (co.)
    8. "Take It Slow"
    • Jay Logan
    • Lee Peters
    • Larry White
    Larry White 5:23
    9. "All Day All Night"
    • Dennis Wadington
    • DeWayne Sweet
    • Larry White
    • Lee Peters
    Larry White 4:40
    10. "I Really Love You Girl"
    • Bobby Brown
    • Gordon Jones
    • Gordon Jones
    • Bobby Brown (co.)
    11. "Cruel Reprise"
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    • Babyface
    • L.A. Reid
    Total length: 47:08


    • Richard Aguon – drum fills, drums, background vocals
    • Babyface – mixing, producer, background vocals
    • Bernard Belle – background vocals
    • Ollie Bolds – background vocals
    • Bobby Brown – primary artist, producer, background vocals
    • Tommy Brown – finger snaps, production coordination
    • Emilio Conesa – guitar
    • Kirk Crumpler – bass, synthesizer, synthesizer bass
    • Michael Denten – drum technician, engineer, mixing, background vocals
    • Lee Drakeford – background vocals
    • Don Emerson – assistant engineer
    • Jon Gass – engineer, mixing, special edits
    • Mitch Gibson – engineer
    • Todd Gray – photography
    • Toni Greene – assistant engineer
    • Gene Griffin – producer
    • Portia Griffin – background vocals
    • John Guggenheim – assistant engineer
    • Aaron Hall – background vocals
    • Steve Hall – mastering
    • Fred Howard – assistant engineer
    • Ja – art direction
    • Howard Johnston – engineer
    • Gordon Jones – multi instruments, producer, background vocals
    • K2 – assistant engineer
    • Kayo – guest artist, background vocals
    • Ruben Laxamana – engineer, special effects
    • Melecio Magdaluyo – soprano saxophone
    • Dennis Mitchell – engineer, mixing
    • Julie Moss – design
    • Lee Peters – background vocals
    • Ben Reyes – keyboards
    • L.A. Reid – producer
    • Markell Riley – drum programming
    • Teddy Riley – keyboards, mixing, background vocals
    • Percy Scott – keyboards
    • Louil Silas, Jr. – executive producer, remixing
    • Daryl Simmons – background vocals
    • Mark Slagle – assistant engineer
    • Dewayne Sweet – drums, keyboards, synthesizer, synthesizer bass
    • Ralph Tresvant – background vocals
    • Ronnie Watkins – background vocals
    • Karyn White – guest artist, background vocals
    • Larry White – assistant engineer, bass, drums, guitar, keyboards, mixing, producer, background vocals

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: MCF3425
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £2.99

    • Ex Tax: £2.99