• Thompson Twins - Here's To Future Days
    (Arista Records  1985  207164)
    Matrix No's: A1/B2/A1/B1

    Sleeve in Excellent condition
    - front is great with original hype sticker - back cover has inch and a half tear at top
    Also comes with original Merchandise Sheet

    Double Vinyl in Nr MINT

    Thompson Twins were a British music group that formed in April 1977 and disbanded in May 1993. Initially a new wave group, they switched to a more mainstream pop sound and achieved considerable popularity in the mid-1980s, scoring a string of hits in the United Kingdom, the United States, and around the globe.

    The band was named after the two bumbling detectives Thomson and Thompson in Hergé's comic strip The Adventures of Tintin. At various stages, the band had up to seven members though their best known incarnation was as a trio between 1982–86. They became a prominent act in the Second British Invasion, and in 1985, the band performed at Live Aid where they were joined onstage by Madonna.

    Here's to Future Days is the fifth studio album by the British pop group Thompson Twins. It was the third and final release for the band as a trio, which was their most successful and recognisable line-up. Released in September 1985, it reached no.5 in the UK, and no.20 in the US.

    Following on from the band's highly successful fourth album, Into the Gap, the writing and recording of Here's to Future Days began in late 1984. The band recorded the single "Lay Your Hands on Me" with Alex Sadkin acting as producer. Sadkin had produced the last two Thompson Twins albums, which were the band's biggest commercial successes to date, and the new single climbed to #13 on the UK charts. However, the band then decided to part company with Sadkin and opted to produce the new album by themselves in Paris, France.

    In March 1985, with the album nearing completion and the next single "Roll Over" just about to be released in the UK, vocalist/guitarist Tom Bailey suddenly fell ill. After collapsing in his hotel room, he was diagnosed with nervous exhaustion and ordered to rest by doctors. The incident prompted the band to recall all copies of "Roll Over", despite the fact that some of them had already been shipped to retail outlets. Holding off on the album's release led the band to reconsider the entire project, and they began work on it again following Bailey's recovery. This time they enlisted Nile Rodgers to take over production and rework the material they had already recorded. The direction of the new recordings featured a more guitar-oriented side to it.

    Before the album's release, the Thompson Twins performed at Live Aid in July 1985, where they revealed their new material by playing a rock oriented version of The Beatles' track "Revolution". The band were also joined onstage for this number by Rodgers himself, Madonna, and guitarist Steve Stevens.

    Although the album was a chart success in the UK and the US, it was considerably less successful than their previous album Into the Gap. Subsequent singles from the album also met with mixed results. The new Nile Rodgers-produced version of "Lay Your Hands on Me" (now with a more distinct gospel sound) reached #6 in the United States, while the next UK single "Don't Mess With Doctor Dream" reached #15. "King for a Day" followed in both markets, peaking at #8 in the US and becoming their third and final Top 10 hit there, but only reaching #22 in the UK. The aforementioned "Revolution" was also released as a single in the UK, but failed to make the top 40, signifying an end to the Thompson Twins' commercial viability there.

    The US pressing of the vinyl album does not include the track "Breakaway" but contained a new, Nile Rodgers-produced version of the track "Roll Over", though the song was omitted altogether in all other countries. The US cassette and CD versions of the album contain both "Roll Over" and "Breakaway".

    Track listing

    All songs written and composed by Tom Bailey, Alannah Currie and Joe Leeway, except where noted.

    LP: Arista 207164

    Side one
    No. Title Length
    1. "Don't Mess with Doctor Dream" 4:25
    2. "Lay Your Hands on Me" 4:22
    3. "Future Days" 3:00
    4. "You Killed the Clown" 4:54
    5. "Revolution" (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) 4:06
    Side two
    No. Title Length
    1. "King for a Day" 5:22
    2. "Love Is the Law" 4:45
    3. "Emperor's Clothes (Part 1)" 4:46
    4. "Tokyo" 3:39
    5. "Breakaway" 3:34

    Some UK copies came with a "free 5-track album of re-mixes" (this disc having cat. no. FRE TT 1). The remixes were also included as bonus tracks on the cassette version of the album.

    Re-Mixes Side A
    No. Title Remixer Length
    1. "Shoot Out" (Engineered by Jay Mark) Tom Bailey 6:23
    2. "Alice" Nile Rodgers, Tom Bailey 4:59
    3. "Heavens Above!" Jay Mark 3:20
    Re-Mixes Side B
    No. Title Remixer Length
    1. "The Kiss" Jay Mark 5:44
    2. "Desert Dancers" Jay Mark 7:05


    Thompson Twins
    • Tom Bailey - synthesizer, lead vocals, piano, guitar, double bass, drum programming, Fairlight programming
    • Alannah Currie - percussion, backing vocals, drums, xylophone, marimba
    • Joe Leeway - congas, backing vocals, synthesizer, synth bass
    Additional Personnel
    • Nile Rodgers - guitar, backing vocals
    • Steve Stevens - guitar ("Revolution," "Breakaway," "Roll Over")
    • Steve Elsin - tenor saxophone ("You Killed the Clown")
    • East Harlem Hobo Choir - backing vocals ("Lay Your Hands on Me," "Future Days")

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 207164
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £4.99

    • Ex Tax: £4.99