• Shpongle - Museum Of Consciousness
    (Twisted Records  2013  TWSLP45)

    Lenticular Gatefold Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
    - dink on the top left corner, 2 small scuffs on top edge and 2 small splits on bottom edge

    Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition


    Shpongle is an English psychedelic music project formed in 1996. The group includes Simon Posford (aka Hallucinogen) and Raja Ram (one third of The Infinity Project). The duo are considered to be one of the progenitors of the psybient genre - a genre combining world music with psychedelic trance and ambient. Their musical style combines traditional music from all over the globe and vocals with contemporary western synthesizer-based psychedelic music. When asked to describe Shpongle's music, Posford has responded that it is "like nothing you've ever heard before." Shpongle's first track, "Vapour Rumours", was released on TIP Records' Infinite Excursions compilation in 1996. Their debut album, Are You Shpongled?, was released in 1998 on Twisted Records. On September 9th, 2014, Simon Posford confirmed that work has begun on a sixth album.

    Posford is generally responsible for the synthesizers, studio work, and live instrumentation while Raja Ram contributes broad musical concepts and flute arrangements. Raja Ram stated in an interview that "Shpongle" is an umbrella term for feeling positive and euphoric emotions. Shpongle's music is heavily influenced by psychedelic experiences and frequently makes use of sonic textures that approximate psychedelic states as well as vocal samples relating to consciousness expansion, hallucinations, and altered states of awareness. For example, the track, "A New Way to Say 'Hooray,'" contains a vocal sample of Terence McKenna describing the effects of DMT, and the most popular song from their first album, 'Divine Moments of Truth', alludes to DMT in its initialism.

    Museum of Consciousness is the fifth studio album by Shpongle, released on July 29, 2013. A snippet of the album's early form was shown in a YouTube video by Simon Posford. Songs from the album became part of Shpongle's live shows in 2012. The album was announced in May 2013 via Shpongle's Facebook page, and more details were revealed in June on Twisted Records' website. The album was released early on July 24, 2013 for people who pre-ordered, and on July 29 to the general public.

    Track listing

    1. "Brain in a Fish Tank" - 7:56
    2. "How the Jellyfish Jumped Up the Mountain" - 10:25
    3. "Juggling Molecules" - 9:17
    4. "The Aquatic Garden of Extra-Celestial Delights" - 11:50
    5. "Further Adventures in Shpongleland" - 6:20
    6. "The Epiphany of Mrs Kugla" - 6:39
    7. "Tickling the Amygdala" - 8:48

    The track "Brain In A Fish Tank" was formerly known as "Museums of Consciousness." The track "The Epiphany of Mrs. Kugla" features Manu Delago on the Hang.

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: TWSLP45
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £199.99

    • Ex Tax: £199.99