• John Cage - Etudes Australes For Piano
    (Ariola Records  1979  300841)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1/A1/B1

    Vinyls in Nr MINT condition

    Gatefold Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
    - two small round stickers on the front under the title & back cover has 2 stickers in top right corner with number written underneath and a round date stamp in the middle

    John Milton Cage Jr. (September 5, 1912 – August 12, 1992) was an American composer, music theorist, writer, and artist. A pioneer of indeterminacy in music, electroacoustic music, and non-standard use of musical instruments, Cage was one of the leading figures of the post-war avant-garde. Critics have lauded him as one of the most influential American composers of the 20th century. He was also instrumental in the development of modern dance, mostly through his association with choreographer Merce Cunningham, who was also Cage's romantic partner for most of their lives.

    Cage is perhaps best known for his 1952 composition 4′33″, which is performed in the absence of deliberate sound; musicians who present the work do nothing aside from being present for the duration specified by the title. The content of the composition is not "four minutes and 33 seconds of silence," as is often assumed, but rather the sounds of the environment heard by the audience during performance. The work's challenge to assumed definitions about musicianship and musical experience made it a popular and controversial topic both in musicology and the broader aesthetics of art and performance. Cage was also a pioneer of the prepared piano (a piano with its sound altered by objects placed between or on its strings or hammers), for which he wrote numerous dance-related works and a few concert pieces. The best known of these is Sonatas and Interludes (1946–48).

    His teachers included Henry Cowell (1933) and Arnold Schoenberg (1933–35), both known for their radical innovations in music, but Cage's major influences lay in various East and South Asian cultures. Through his studies of Indian philosophy and Zen Buddhism in the late 1940s, Cage came to the idea of aleatoric or chance-controlled music, which he started composing in 1951. The I Ching, an ancient Chinese classic text on changing events, became Cage's standard composition tool for the rest of his life. In a 1957 lecture, Experimental Music, he described music as "a purposeless play" which is "an affirmation of life – not an attempt to bring order out of chaos nor to suggest improvements in creation, but simply a way of waking up to the very life we're living".

    Late in September in 1958 I was in Stockholm in a hotel. I set about writing the present lecture which I was obliged to give a week later at the Brussels Fair. I recalled a remark made years before by David Tudor that I should make a talk that was nothing but stories. The idea was appealing when he gave it to me but I had never acted on it. A few weeks before, in Darmstadt, Karlheinz Stockhausen had said, "I'll publish your Brussels talk in Die Reihe." I replied, "You'd better wait and see what it is I write." He said, "No matter what it is, I'll publish it." My intention in putting 90 stories together in an unplanned way is to suggest that all things, sounds, stories (and, by extension, beings) are related, and that this complexity is more evident when it is not over-simplified by an idea of relationship in one person's mind. Most of the stories are things that happened that stuck in my mind. Others I read in books and remembered, those for instance, from Kwang-Tse and Sri Ramakrishna. The 2nd, 15th, 16th, 46th, and 75th stories are to be found somewhere in the literature surrounding Zen. David Tudor: piano, whistles, tape machines, and amplified slinky.


      Side A, Book 1 16:34
    A1 Etude #1 3:46
    A2 Etude #2 4:25
    A3 Etude #3 3:53
    A4 Etude #4 4:03
      Side B, Book 1 17:27
    B1 Etude #5 4:19
    B2 Etude #6 3:59
    B3 Etude #7 4:56
    B4 Etude #8 3:48
      Side C, Book 2 18:03
    C1 Etude #9 5:00
    C2 Etude #10 4:25
    C3 Etude #11 4:30
    C4 Etude #12 3:45
      Side D, Book 2 19:39
    D1 Etude #13 4:05
    D2 Etude #14 5:10
    D3 Etude #15 4:20
    D4 Etude #16 5:38


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 300841
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £20.99

    • Ex Tax: £20.99