• Philip Glass - The Photographer
    (CBS Records  1986  FM39564)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1

    Sleeve & Insert in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    Philip Morris Glass (born January 31, 1937) is an American composer. He is considered one of the most influential music makers of the late 20th century. His music is also often controversially described as minimal music, along with the work of the other "major minimalists" La Monte Young, Terry Riley and Steve Reich.

    Glass has distanced himself from the "minimalist" label, describing himself instead as a composer of "music with repetitive structures". Though his early mature music shares much with what is normally called "minimalist", he has since evolved stylistically. Currently, he describes himself as a "Classicist", pointing out that he is trained in harmony and counterpoint and studied such composers as Franz Schubert, Johann Sebastian Bach and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart with Nadia Boulanger.

    Glass is a prolific composer: he has written works for the musical group which he founded, the Philip Glass Ensemble (with which he still performs on keyboards), as well as operas, musical theatre works, ten symphonies, eleven concertos, solo works, chamber music including string quartets and instrumental sonatas, and film scores. Three of his film scores have been nominated for Academy Awards.

    Songs from Liquid Days is a collection of songs composed by composer Philip Glass with lyrics by Paul Simon, Suzanne Vega, David Byrne and Laurie Anderson. Glass began the project scoring lyrics by Byrne and then thought to collaborate with additional songwriters.

    On the project, Glass said:

    The words come first. From these I fashioned a set of six songs which, together, form a cycle of themes ranging from reflections on nature to classic romantic settings. After the music was written, I — along with producer Kurt Munkacsi and conductor Michael Riesman — began the long and difficult process of 'casting' singers for the individual songs. We felt that the interpretation a singer brings to a song is an immense contribution to its character — contributing their own personality to the work perhaps more than any other performer.

    The recording features performances by Bernard Fowler, the Kronos Quartet, Janice Pendarvis, Douglas Perry, The Roches, Linda Ronstadt, and the Philip Glass Ensemble, directed by Michael Riesman. The recording was released in 1986 by CBS Records. The song "Lightning" was performed by the Philip Glass Ensemble on Saturday Night Live, March 22, 1986.

    Track listing

    1. "Changing Opinion" (Glass, Paul Simon; Bernard Fowler, vocals) – 9:57
    2. "Lightning" (Glass, Suzanne Vega; Janice Pendarvis, vocals) – 6:42
    3. "Freezing" (Glass, Suzanne Vega; The Kronos Quartet; Linda Ronstadt, vocals) – 3:16
    4. "Liquid Days" (Glass, David Byrne; The Roches, vocals) – 4:45
    5. "Open the Kingdom (Liquid Days, Part Two)" (Glass, David Byrne; Douglas Perry, vocals) – 6:59
    6. "Forgetting" (Glass, Laurie Anderson; The Kronos Quartet; Linda Ronstadt, vocals; The Roches, backing vocals) – 8:10

    All songs feature the Philip Glass Ensemble under direction of Michael Riesman.


    Cover photo of Philip Glass is by Robert Mapplethorpe.

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: FM39564
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £6.99

    • Ex Tax: £6.99