• Cher - 3614 Jackson Highway
    (Atco Records  1969  228026)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    - a little wear to edges

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Cher (born Cherilyn Sarkisian; May 20, 1946) is an American singer and actress. Commonly referred to as the Goddess of Pop, she is described as embodying female autonomy in a male-dominated industry. She is known for her distinctive contralto singing voice and for having worked in numerous areas of entertainment, as well as adopting a variety of styles and appearances during her five-decade-long career.

    Cher gained popularity in 1965 as one-half of the folk rock husband-wife duo Sonny & Cher after their song "I Got You Babe" reached number one on the American and British charts. She began her solo career simultaneously, releasing in 1966 her first million-seller song, "Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)". She became a television personality in the 1970s with her shows The Sonny & Cher Comedy Hour, watched by over 30 million viewers weekly during its three-year run, and Cher. She emerged as a fashion trendsetter by wearing elaborate outfits on her television shows. While working on television, she established herself as a solo artist with the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 chart-topping singles "Gypsys, Tramps & Thieves", "Half-Breed", and "Dark Lady". After her divorce from Sonny Bono in 1975, Cher launched a comeback in 1979 with the disco-oriented album Take Me Home and earned $300,000 a week for her 1980–82 residency show in Las Vegas.

    In 1982, Cher made her Broadway debut in the play Come Back to the Five and Dime, Jimmy Dean, Jimmy Dean and starred in the film adaptation of the same title. She subsequently earned critical acclaim for her performances in films such as Silkwood (1983), Mask (1985), and Moonstruck (1987), for which she won the Academy Award for Best Actress. She then revived her musical career by recording the rock-inflected albums Cher (1987), Heart of Stone (1989), and Love Hurts (1991), all of which yielded several successful singles. She reached a new commercial peak in 1998 with the album Believe, whose title track became the biggest-selling single of all time by a female artist in the UK. It also features the pioneering use of Auto-Tune, also known as the "Cher effect". Her 2002–2005 Living Proof: The Farewell Tour became one of the highest-grossing concert tours of all time, earning $250 million. In 2008, she signed a $180 million deal to headline the Colosseum at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas for three years. After seven years of absence, she returned to film in the 2010 musical Burlesque. Cher's first studio album in 12 years, Closer to the Truth (2013), became her highest-charting solo album in the U.S. to date at number three.

    Cher has won a Grammy Award, an Emmy Award, an Academy Award, three Golden Globe Awards, a Cannes Film Festival Award, and a special CFDA Fashion Award, among several other honors. Throughout her career, she has sold 100 million records worldwide. She is the only artist to date to have a number-one single on a Billboard chart in each decade from the 1960s to the 2010s. Outside of her music and acting, she is noted for her political views, philanthropic endeavors and social activism, including LGBT rights and HIV/AIDS prevention.

    3614 Jackson Highway is the sixth album by American singer-actress Cher, released on June 20, 1969 by ATCO. This album was a commercial failure, peaking at #160, although it received praise and positive reviews from the music critics. 3614 Jackson Highway was the address of Muscle Shoals Sound Studios. The album is by-and-large a covers album.

    3614 Jackson Highway was released in the summer of 1969, was her first and last solo studio album for Atco, and was produced by Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd and Arif Mardin. The cover is a photograph of Cher with the musicians who played on the album. They are: front row, left to right: guitarist Eddie Hinton, bassist David Hood, Sonny Bono, Cher, producer Jerry Wexler, background vocalist Jeannie Greene, background vocalist Donna Jean Godchaux née,Thatcher, and producer Tom Dowd. Back row, left to right: lead guitarist Jimmy Johnson, producer Arif Mardin, drummer Roger Hawkins and keyboardist Barry Beckett. Missing were background vocalists Mary Holiday and Sue Pilkington.

    This disc is certainly Cher's most ambitious project (at least for the '60s) and was designed to bring Cher success after a period of crisis because 1968-1970 wasn't a good period for Sonny & Cher and for Cher as a solo artist. The worldwide pop culture was moving on, but Sonny & Cher stayed in their original image and style. Pop music was transforming into a harder style marked by anti-war songs protesting the war in Vietnam. Cher's and Sonny & Cher's music didn't really fit in. So their records weren't really selling anymore. For months they had a nightclub act, but the audience response was less than positive.

    If the public response to this album was low, the criticism was ecstatic. Critics judged this as one of Cher's best albums. A surprising element of the disc was the maturing voice of Cher, which showed more strength and versatility than in previous works. Another surprise was the sophisticated instrumentation and arrangements, which gave the disc a rock edge, along with Cher's success in interpreting other artists' songs.

    The title of the album represents the address of Muscle Shoals Sound Studio in Sheffield, Alabama, where the disc was recorded.

    In 1968 and 1969 Cher recorded songs which would have become an album in 1970. For unknown reasons the release was cancelled however five songs were released as singles. The other five tracks remained unreleased until 2001 when Rhino Records released a limited edition (only 4500 copies) of the album 3614 Jackson Highway with all the songs from the canceled album included as bonus tracks. The song "Superstar" is also included which was originally cut from the cancelled album.

    Track listing

    Side A
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    1. "For What It's Worth" Stephen Stills 2:22
    2. "(Just Enough to Keep Me) Hangin' On" Buddy Mize, Ira Allen 3:18
    3. "(Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay" Steve Cropper, Otis Redding 2:41
    4. "Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You" Bob Dylan 3:08
    5. "I Threw It All Away" Bob Dylan 2:49
    6. "I Walk on Guilded Splinters" Dr. John Creaux 2:32
    Side B
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    1. "Lay, Baby, Lay" Bob Dylan 3:36
    2. "Please Don't Tell Me" Carroll W. Quillen, Grady Smith 3:36
    3. "Cry Like a Baby" Spooner Oldham, Dan Penn 2:46
    4. "Do Right Woman, Do Right Man" Chips Moman, Dan Penn 2:46
    5. "Save the Children" Eddie Hinton 2:54


    • Cher – lead vocals
    • Jimmy Johnson - guitar
    • Eddie Hinton - guitar
    • Barry Beckett - keyboards
    • David Hood - bass
    • Roger Hawkins - drums
    • Jeannie Greene, Donna Jean Godchaux (néeThatcher), Mary Holiday, Sue Pilkington - backing vocalist


    • Jerry Wexler – record producer
    • Tom Dowd – record producer
    • Arif Mardin – record producer
    • Stan Vincent – record producer
    • Greg Poree – arrangement assistance


    • Stephen Paley – photography
    • Bryan Lasley – art direction
    • Patrick Pending – art direction

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good

    CHER - 3614 JACKSON HIGHWAY LP - Nr MINT A1/B1 UK 1969

    • Product Code: 228026
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £54.99

    • Ex Tax: £54.99