• Van Halen - II
    (Warner Bros Records  1979  WB56616)
    Matrix No's: A2/B2

    Sleeve in Excellent condition
    - some wear to edges & a little ringwear
    No Poster

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Van Halen were an American rock band formed in Pasadena, California in 1972. Credited with "restoring hard rock to the forefront of the music scene", Van Halen is known for its energetic live shows and for the work of its acclaimed lead guitarist, Eddie Van Halen. The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2007.

    From 1974 until 1985, Van Halen consisted of Eddie Van Halen; Eddie's brother, drummer Alex Van Halen; vocalist David Lee Roth; and bassist Michael Anthony. Upon its release in 1978, the band's self-titled debut album reached No. 19 on the Billboard pop music charts and would go on to sell over 10 million copies in the U.S. From 1979 to 1982, the band released four albums (Van Halen II, Women and Children First, Fair Warning, and Diver Down), all of which have since been certified multi-platinum. By the early 1980s, Van Halen was one of the most successful rock acts of the time. The album 1984 was a commercial success with U.S. sales of 10 million copies and four hit singles; its lead single, "Jump", is the band's only U.S. number one single to date and was internationally known.

    In 1985, Roth left the band to embark on a solo career and was replaced by former Montrose lead vocalist Sammy Hagar. With Hagar, the group released four U.S. number-one, multi-platinum albums over the course of 11 years (5150 in 1986, OU812 in 1988, For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge in 1991, and Balance in 1995). Hagar left the band in 1996 shortly before the release of the band's first greatest hits collection, Best Of – Volume I. Former Extreme frontman Gary Cherone replaced Hagar and recorded the commercially unsuccessful album Van Halen III with the band in 1998, before parting ways in 1999. Van Halen then went on hiatus until reuniting with Hagar in 2003 for a worldwide tour in 2004 and the double-disc greatest hits collection The Best of Both Worlds. Hagar again left Van Halen in 2005. In 2006, Roth returned as lead vocalist and Anthony was replaced on bass guitar by Wolfgang Van Halen, Eddie's son. In 2012, the band released the commercially and critically successful A Different Kind of Truth.

    As of March 2019, Van Halen is 20th on the RIAA list of best-selling artists in the United States; the band has sold 56 million albums in the States and more than 80 million worldwide, making them one of the best-selling groups of all time. As of 2007, Van Halen was one of only five rock bands with two studio albums that sold more than 10 million copies in the United States and is also tied for the most multi-platinum albums by an American band. Additionally, Van Halen has charted 13 number-one hits on Billboard's Mainstream Rock chart. VH1 ranked the band seventh on a list of the top 100 hard rock artists of all time.

    On October 6, 2020, Eddie Van Halen died from cancer. He had first confirmed his initial cancer diagnosis in April 2001.

    Van Halen II is the second album by American hard rock band Van Halen, released in 1979.

    Background and recording

    The actual recording of the album took place less than a year after the release of the band's eponymous debut album; the process was completed in three weeks. Many of the songs on Van Halen II have been known to exist prior to the release of the first album, and are present (in various forms) on the demos recorded in 1976 by KISS' Gene Simmons and '77 by Ted Templeman, including an early version of "Beautiful Girls" (then known as "Bring on the Girls") and "Somebody Get Me a Doctor". (The album version is only slightly different than the demo versions).

    In the band's licensed game, Guitar Hero: Van Halen, four of the ten tracks of this album are available for play: "Dance the Night Away," "Somebody Get Me a Doctor," "Spanish Fly," and "Beautiful Girls."


    The black-and-yellow guitar on the back of the album is buried with Dimebag Darrell. Eddie Van Halen placed it in his casket at his funeral because Darrell had said it was his favorite. However, Eddie himself stated in interviews that the guitar itself was not actually used on the Van Halen II album, as it had only been completed just in time for the photo shoots for the album. David Lee Roth is shown in a cast in the inner liner notes, as he allegedly broke his right foot making the leap and accidentally landing on the bottom of the microphone stand also seen in the picture on the back cover art.

    Track listing

    All songs written by Eddie Van Halen, Alex Van Halen, Michael Anthony and David Lee Roth, except where noted.

    No. Title Length  
    1. "You're No Good" (Clint Ballard, Jr.) 3:16
    2. "Dance the Night Away"   3:06
    3. "Somebody Get Me a Doctor"   2:52
    4. "Bottoms Up!"   3:05
    5. "Outta Love Again"   2:51
    6. "Light Up the Sky"   3:13
    7. "Spanish Fly" (Instrumental) 1:00
    8. "D.O.A."   4:09
    9. "Women in Love..."   4:08
    10. "Beautiful Girls"   3:56


    • David Lee Roth - lead vocals
    • Eddie Van Halen - electric and acoustic guitars, backing vocals
    • Michael Anthony - bass guitar, backing vocals
    • Alex Van Halen - drums


    • Producer: Ted Templeman
    • Engineers: Corey Bailey, Jim Fitzpatrick, Donn Landee
    • Assistant engineers: Corey Bailey, Jim Fitzpatrick
    • Remastering: Gregg Geller
    • Project coordinator: Jo Motta
    • Art direction: Dave Bhang
    • Design: Dave Bhang
    • Artwork: Dave Bhang
    • Photography: Elliot Gilbert, Neil Zlozower

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: WB56616
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £14.99

    • Ex Tax: £14.99