• Thomas Dolby - The Flat Earth
    (Parlophone Odeon Records  1984  1A0642400341)
    Matrix No's: A2/B1

    Sleeve in Nr MINT- condition
    - tiny sticker mark top left
    Inner Sleeve has a tiny split in the bottom & a split in one side

    Vinyl in Nr MINT/Excellent 
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

    Thomas Morgan Robertson (born 14 October 1958), known by the stage name Thomas Dolby, is an English musician, producer, entrepreneur and teacher. He came to prominence in the 1980s, releasing hit singles including "She Blinded Me with Science" (1982) and "Hyperactive!" (1984). He has also worked in production and as a session musician. In the 1990s he founded a Silicon Valley sound technology company, Beatnik, whose technology was used to create the Nokia tune. He was also the Music Director for the TED Conference. Currently on faculty at the Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins University, Dolby leads Peabody’s Music for New Media program, which enrolled its first students in the fall of 2018.

    The Flat Earth is the second album by Thomas Dolby. It was released in February 1984, peaking at #14 on the UK Albums Chart. The first single from the album was "Hyperactive!", which peaked at #17 in the UK Singles Chart, making it Dolby's highest-charting single in his home country. Second and third singles, "I Scare Myself" and "Dissidents (The Search For Truth)", peaked at #46 and #90 respectively. The album charted at #35 in America.

    Track listing

    All songs written by Thomas Dolby, except where noted.

    Side A

    1. "Dissidents" (Thomas Dolby, Kevin Armstrong, Matthew Seligman) - 4:56
    2. "The Flat Earth" - 6:41
    3. "Screen Kiss" - 5:33

    Side B

    1. "White City" - 5:19
    2. "Mulu the Rain Forest" - 5:00
    3. "I Scare Myself" (Dan Hicks) - 5:40
    4. "Hyperactive!" - 4:13


    • Thomas Dolby – vocals, piano, keyboards, effects
    • Kevin Armstrong – guitar, trumpet, backing vocals
    • Matthew Seligman – Bass guitar
    • Clif Brigden – percussion, electronic drums
    • Adele Bertei – backing vocals on tracks 1, 2, 7
    • Lesley Fairbairn – backing vocals on tracks 2, 3, 6
    • Lionel Richie – backing Vocals
    • Bruce Woolley – backing vocals on track 5
    • Robyn Hitchcock – spoken word on track 4
    • Peter Thoms – trombone on tracks 6, 7
    • Louise Ulfstedt – vocals on track 7
    • Matthew Salt – tins, thunder sheet on track 7
    • Mixed by Mike Shipley (tracks 1 to 6), Alan Douglas (track 7)
    • Engineer – Dan Lacksman
    • Mastered by Wally Traugott at Capitol, L.A.

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 1A0642400341
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £7.99

    • Ex Tax: £7.99