• Paul McCartney - McCartney
    (Apple Records  1970  PCS7102)
    Matrix No's: YEX7753U/YEX7763U - UK Pressing

    Gatefold Sleeve in Excellent+/Nr MINT condition
    - some slight wear to edges & some light rubbing

    Vinyl in Nr MINT- condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)


    McCartney is the first solo album by English musician Paul McCartney. It was issued on Apple Records in April 1970 after McCartney had resisted attempts by his fellow Beatles to have the release delayed to allow for Apple's previously scheduled titles, notably the band's Let It Be album. McCartney recorded his eponymous solo album during a period of depression and confusion, following John Lennon's private announcement in September 1969 that he was leaving the Beatles, and the conflict over its release further estranged McCartney from his bandmates. A press release in the form of a self-interview, supplied with UK copies of McCartney, led to the announcement of the group's break-up on 10 April 1970.

    Apart from then-wife Linda's vocal contributions, McCartney performed the entire album by himself, playing every instrument. Featuring loosely arranged (and in some cases, unfinished) home recordings, McCartney explored the back-to-basics style that had been the original concept for the Let It Be project in 1969. Partly as a result of McCartney's role in officially ending the Beatles' career, the album received an unfavourable response from the majority of music critics, although the song "Maybe I'm Amazed" was consistently singled out for praise. Commercially, McCartney benefited from the publicity surrounding the break-up; it held the number 1 position for three weeks on the US Billboard 200 chart and peaked at number 2 in Britain. The album was reissued in June 2011 as part of the Paul McCartney Archive Collection.

    Track listing

    All songs written by Paul McCartney.

    Original release

    Side one
    1. "The Lovely Linda" – 0:45
    2. "That Would Be Something" – 2:41
    3. "Valentine Day" – 1:43
    4. "Every Night" – 2:35
    5. "Hot as Sun/Glasses" – 2:09
    6. "Junk" – 1:56
    7. "Man We Was Lonely" – 3:00
    Side two
    1. "Oo You" – 2:50
    2. "Momma Miss America" – 4:07
    3. "Teddy Boy" – 2:24
    4. "Singalong Junk" – 1:56
    5. "Maybe I'm Amazed" – 3:52
    6. "Kreen-Akrore" – 4:15


    • Paul McCartney – vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, bass, drums, piano, organ, percussion, mellotron, toy xylophone, effects, backing vocals
    • Linda McCartney – harmony and backing vocals

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: PCS7102
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £24.99

    • Ex Tax: £24.99