• The Beatles' Second Album
    (Capitol Records  1980  ST2080  Canada Press)

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    The Beatles were an English rock band formed in Liverpool in 1960. With members John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr, they became widely regarded as the foremost and most influential act of the rock era. Rooted in skiffle, beat and 1950s rock and roll, the Beatles later experimented with several musical styles, ranging from pop ballads and Indian music to psychedelia and hard rock, often incorporating classical elements and unconventional recording techniques in innovative ways. In 1963 their enormous popularity first emerged as "Beatlemania", and as the group's music grew in sophistication in subsequent years, led by primary songwriters Lennon and McCartney, they came to be perceived as an embodiment of the ideals shared by the counterculture of the 1960s.

    The Beatles built their reputation playing clubs in Liverpool and Hamburg over a three-year period from 1960, with Stuart Sutcliffe initially serving as bass player. The core of Lennon, McCartney and Harrison went through a succession of drummers, including Pete Best, before asking Starr to join them in 1962. Manager Brian Epstein moulded them into a professional act, and producer George Martin guided and developed their recordings, greatly expanding their popularity in the United Kingdom after their first hit, "Love Me Do", in late 1962. They acquired the nickname "the Fab Four" as Beatlemania grew in Britain the next year, and by early 1964 became international stars, leading the "British Invasion" of the United States pop market. From 1965 onwards, the Beatles produced increasingly innovative recordings, including the albums Rubber Soul (1965), Revolver (1966), Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967), The Beatles (commonly known as the White Album, 1968) and Abbey Road (1969). After their break-up in 1970, they each enjoyed successful musical careers of varying lengths. McCartney and Starr, the surviving members, remain musically active. Lennon was shot and killed in December 1980, and Harrison died of lung cancer in November 2001.

    The Beatles are the best-selling band in history, with estimated sales of over 800 million physical and digital albums worldwide. They have had more number-one albums on the British charts and sold more singles in the UK than any other act. They are also the best-selling music artists in the United States, with 178 million certified units. In 2008, the group topped Billboard magazine's list of the all-time most successful artists; as of 2017, they hold the record for most number-one hits on the Hot 100 chart with twenty. They have received seven Grammy Awards, an Academy Award for Best Original Song Score and fifteen Ivor Novello Awards. The group was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988, and all four main members were inducted individually from 1994 to 2015. They were also collectively included in Time magazine's compilation of the twentieth century's 100 most influential people.

    The Beatles' Second Album is the second Capitol Records album by the English rock band the Beatles, and their third album released in the United States including Introducing... The Beatles, which was issued three months earlier by Vee-Jay Records. Following its release in April 1964, The Beatles' Second Album replaced Meet the Beatles! at number 1 on the Billboard Top LPs chart in the US.

    In 2004 The Beatles' Second Album was issued for the first time on compact disc (catalogue number CDP 7243 8 66877 2 2), (CDP 7243 8 66878 2 1) as part of The Capitol Albums, Volume 1 boxed set and was issued in a miniature cardboard replica of the original album sleeve containing the US mono and stereo mixes. In 2014, the album was released on CD again, individually and included in the Beatles boxed set The U.S. Albums, which contained the album's running order but with UK mixes as remastered in 2009.

    The album was also issued on the EMI subsidiary label Odeon in 1964 for the Japanese market. That version had the same title and similar cover art but contained different songs than the US release.

    Track listing

    All tracks written by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, except where noted.

    Side one
    No. Title Lead vocals Length
    1. "Roll Over Beethoven" (Chuck Berry) Harrison 2:44
    2. "Thank You Girl" Lennon and McCartney 2:01
    3. "You Really Got a Hold on Me" (Smokey Robinson) Lennon and Harrison 2:58
    4. "Devil in Her Heart" (Richard Drapkin) Harrison 2:28
    5. "Money (That's What I Want)" (Janie Bradford, Berry Gordy, Jr.) Lennon 2:47
    6. "You Can't Do That" Lennon 2:39
    Side two
    No. Title Lead vocals Length
    1. "Long Tall Sally" (Robert Blackwell, Enotris Johnson, Little Richard) McCartney 2:00
    2. "I Call Your Name" Lennon 2:09
    3. "Please Mr. Postman" (Robert Bateman, Georgia Dobbins, William Garrett, Fred Gorman, Brian Holland) Lennon 2:35
    4. "I'll Get You" Lennon with McCartney 2:05
    5. "She Loves You" Lennon and McCartney 2:20


    The Beatles

    • John Lennon – lead and backing vocals; rhythm and acoustic guitars (lead guitar solo on "You Can't Do That"); harmonica, handclaps
    • Paul McCartney – lead, harmony and backing vocals; bass guitar; handclaps, cowbell
    • George Harrison – lead, harmony and backing vocals; lead guitar; handclaps
    • Ringo Starr – drums; cowbell, maracas, conga, handclaps

    Additional musician

    • George Martin – piano on "You Really Got a Hold on Me", "Money (That's What I Want)" and "Long Tall Sally"


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: ST2080
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £20.99

    • Ex Tax: £20.99