• John Lennon - Walls And Bridges
    (Apple Records  1974  3C06405733  Italian Pressing)

    Die-Cut Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
    - some wear along top edge
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Booklet in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

    John Winston Ono Lennon, MBE (born John Winston Lennon; 9 October 1940 – 8 December 1980) was an English singer and songwriter who co-founded the Beatles, the most commercially successful band in the history of popular music. He and fellow member Paul McCartney formed a celebrated songwriting partnership.

    Born and raised in Liverpool, Lennon became involved in the skiffle craze as a teenager; his first band, the Quarrymen, evolved into the Beatles in 1960. When the group disbanded in 1970, Lennon embarked on a sporadic solo career that produced albums including John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band and Imagine, and songs such as "Give Peace a Chance", "Working Class Hero", and "Imagine". After his marriage to Yoko Ono in 1969, he changed his name to John Ono Lennon. Lennon disengaged himself from the music business in 1975 to raise his infant son Sean, but re-emerged with Ono in 1980 with the new album Double Fantasy. He was murdered three weeks after its release.

    Lennon revealed a rebellious nature and acerbic wit in his music, writing, drawings, on film and in interviews. Controversial through his political and peace activism, he moved to Manhattan in 1971, where his criticism of the Vietnam War resulted in a lengthy attempt by Richard Nixon's administration to deport him, while some of his songs were adopted as anthems by the anti-war movement and the larger counterculture.

    By 2012, Lennon's solo album sales in the United States exceeded 14 million and, as writer, co-writer, or performer, he is responsible for 25 number-one singles on the US Hot 100 chart. In 2002, a BBC poll on the 100 Greatest Britons voted him eighth and, in 2008, Rolling Stone ranked him the fifth-greatest singer of all time. He was posthumously inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 1987, and into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice, in 1988 as a member of the Beatles and in 1994 as a solo artist.

    Walls and Bridges is the fifth studio album by John Lennon, issued by Apple Records, on 26 September 1974 in the United States and on 4 October in the United Kingdom. Written, recorded and released during his 18-month separation from Yoko Ono (June 1973–January 1975), the album captures Lennon in the midst of his "Lost Weekend". Walls and Bridges was an American Billboard number one album and featured two hit singles "Whatever Gets You thru the Night" and "#9 Dream", the first of which was Lennon's first number one hit in the United States as a solo artist, and his only chart-topping single in either the US or Britain during his lifetime.

    The album was certified silver in the UK, and gold in the US.

    Track listing

    All songs were written by John Lennon, except where noted.

    Side one
    1. "Going Down on Love" – 3:54
    2. "Whatever Gets You thru the Night" – 3:28
    3. "Old Dirt Road" (Lennon, Harry Nilsson) – 4:11
    4. "What You Got" – 3:09
    5. "Bless You" – 4:38
    6. "Scared" – 4:36
    Side two
    1. "#9 Dream" – 4:47
    2. "Surprise, Surprise (Sweet Bird of Paradox)" – 2:55
    3. "Steel and Glass" – 4:37
    4. "Beef Jerky" – 3:26
    5. "Nobody Loves You (When You're Down and Out)" – 5:08
    6. "Ya Ya" (Morgan Robinson, Lee Dorsey, Clarence Lewis, Morris Levy) – 1:06


    • John Lennon – arrangements, vocals (lead, harmony, and background), lead guitar, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, whistling, percussion, production
    Plastic Ono Nuclear Band
    • Ken Ascher – electric piano, clavinet, Mellotron
    • Jim Keltner – drums
    • Arthur Jenkins – percussion
    • Nicky Hopkins – piano
    • Klaus Voormann – bass
    • Bobby Keys – tenor saxophone
    • Ron Aprea - tenor saxophone
    • Jesse Ed Davis – acoustic guitar, lead guitar
    • Eddie Mottau – acoustic guitar
    Additional personnel
    • Strings and brass musicians from The Philharmonic Orchestrange – arranged and conducted by Ken Ascher.
    • Little Big Horns – Ron Aprea (alto saxophone), Bobby Keys (tenor saxophone), Frank Vicari (tenor saxophone), Howard Johnson (baritone and bass saxophone) and Steve Madaio (trumpet).
    • Julian Lennon – drums on "Ya Ya".
    • Elton John – piano and harmony vocals on "Whatever Gets you thru the Night" and Hammond organ and background vocals on "Surprise, Surprise (Sweet Bird of Paradox)"
    • Harry Nilsson – backing vocals on "Old Dirt Road".
    • The 44th Street Fairies: Joey Dambra, Lori Burton and May Pang – background vocals on "#9 Dream".
    • Shelly Yakus – engineer
    • Jimmy Iovine – overdub engineer
    • Roy Cicala – remix engineer
    • May Pang – production coordinator
    • Roy Kohara – art direction
    • Bob Gruen – photography

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 3C06405733
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £20.99

    • Ex Tax: £20.99