• John Lennon - Imagine
    (Capitol Records  1978  SW3379  US Pressing)

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    - some slight wear to edges
    Die Cut Inner Sleeve has small splits
    Poster in Nr MINT condition
    No Postcard

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    John Winston Ono Lennon, MBE (born John Winston Lennon; 9 October 1940 – 8 December 1980) was an English singer and songwriter who co-founded the Beatles, the most commercially successful band in the history of popular music. He and fellow member Paul McCartney formed a celebrated songwriting partnership.

    Born and raised in Liverpool, Lennon became involved in the skiffle craze as a teenager; his first band, the Quarrymen, evolved into the Beatles in 1960. When the group disbanded in 1970, Lennon embarked on a sporadic solo career that produced albums including John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band and Imagine, and songs such as "Give Peace a Chance", "Working Class Hero", and "Imagine". After his marriage to Yoko Ono in 1969, he changed his name to John Ono Lennon. Lennon disengaged himself from the music business in 1975 to raise his infant son Sean, but re-emerged with Ono in 1980 with the new album Double Fantasy. He was murdered three weeks after its release.

    Lennon revealed a rebellious nature and acerbic wit in his music, writing, drawings, on film and in interviews. Controversial through his political and peace activism, he moved to Manhattan in 1971, where his criticism of the Vietnam War resulted in a lengthy attempt by Richard Nixon's administration to deport him, while some of his songs were adopted as anthems by the anti-war movement and the larger counterculture.

    By 2012, Lennon's solo album sales in the United States exceeded 14 million and, as writer, co-writer, or performer, he is responsible for 25 number-one singles on the US Hot 100 chart. In 2002, a BBC poll on the 100 Greatest Britons voted him eighth and, in 2008, Rolling Stone ranked him the fifth-greatest singer of all time. He was posthumously inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 1987, and into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice, in 1988 as a member of the Beatles and in 1994 as a solo artist.

    Imagine is the second studio rock album by John Lennon. Recorded and released in 1971, it tended towards songs that were gentler, more commercial and less primal rock than those on his previous album, the critically acclaimed John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band. The album is considered the most popular of his works. In 2012, Imagine was voted 80th on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the "500 Greatest Albums of All Time".

    Track listing

    All songs written by John Lennon, except where noted.

    Side one
    1. "Imagine" – 3:01
    2. "Crippled Inside" – 3:47
    3. "Jealous Guy" – 4:14
    4. "It's So Hard" – 2:25
    5. "I Don't Want to Be a Soldier, Mama, I Don't Want to Die" – 6:05
    Side two
    1. "Gimme Some Truth" – 3:16
    2. "Oh My Love" (Lennon−Yoko Ono) – 2:50
    3. "How Do You Sleep?" – 5:36
    4. "How?" – 3:43
    5. "Oh Yoko!" – 4:20


    The following musicians performed on Imagine:

    • John Lennon – vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, piano, harmonica (10), whistling (3)
    • George Harrison – electric guitar (6, 7), slide guitar (5, 6, 8), dobro
    • Klaus Voormann – bass (all except 2), upright bass (2)
    • Nicky Hopkins – piano (all except 1, 4, 7), electric piano (7)
    • Alan White – drums (1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10), Tibetan cymbals (7), vibraphone (3)
    • Jim Keltner – drums (2, 3, 5)
    • Jim Gordon – drums (4)
    • John Barham – harmonium (3), vibraphone (9)
    • King Curtis – saxophone (4, 5)
    • Joey Molland – acoustic guitar (5)
    • Tom Evans – acoustic guitar (5)
    • John Tout – acoustic guitar (2), piano (uncredited originally)
    • Ted Turner – acoustic guitar (2)
    • Rod Linton – acoustic guitar (2, 6, 10)
    • Andy Davis – acoustic guitar (6, 10)
    • The New York Philharmonic (credited as "The Flux Fiddlers") – orchestral strings
    • Phil Spector – backing vocals (10)
    • Michael Pinder – tambourine (5)
    • Steve Brendell – upright bass (2), maracas (5)


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: PAS10004
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £26.99

    • Ex Tax: £26.99