• Bob Marley & The Wailers - Rastaman Vibration
    (Island Records  1983  900331  US Press)

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT- condition
    - dink in middle of spine

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    Robert Nesta Marley, OM (6 February 1945 – 11 May 1981) was a Jamaican singer-songwriter who became an international musical and cultural icon, blending mostly reggae, ska, and rocksteady in his compositions. He started in 1963 with the group the Wailers and forged a distinctive songwriting and vocal style that became popular with audiences worldwide. The Wailers released some of the earliest reggae records with producer Lee "Scratch" Perry.

    The Wailers disbanded in 1974, and Marley pursued a solo career upon his relocation to England which culminated in the release of the album Exodus in 1977, which established his worldwide reputation and elevated his status as one of the world's best-selling artists of all time, with sales of more than 75 million records. Exodus stayed on the British album charts for 56 consecutive weeks and included the UK hit singles "Exodus", "Waiting in Vain", "Jamming", and "One Love". In 1978, he released the album Kaya, which included the hit singles "Is This Love" and "Satisfy My Soul". The greatest hits album Legend was released in 1984, three years after Marley died. It subsequently became the best-selling reggae album of all time.

    Marley died on 11 May 1981 in Miami at age 36 of melanoma. He was a committed Rastafari who infused his music with a sense of spirituality. He is credited with popularising reggae music around the world and served as a symbol of Jamaican culture and identity. He has become a global symbol and has inspired a significant merchandise industry.

    Rastaman Vibration is a reggae album by Bob Marley & The Wailers released on 30 April 1976. The album was a great success in the USA, becoming the first (and only) Bob Marley release to reach the top 10 on the Billboard 200 charts (peaking at number 8), in addition to releasing Marley's most popular US single "Roots, Rock, Reggae," the only Marley single to reach the Billboard Hot 100 charts, peaking at No. 51. Synthesizers are featured prominently on this album, adding a breezy embellishment to otherwise hard-driving songs with strong elements of rock guitar. This is one of the three Wailers solo albums released in 1976, along with Blackheart Man by Bunny Wailer and Legalize It by Peter Tosh.

    Track listing

    Original album (1976)

    Side one  
    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    1. "Positive Vibration"   Vincent Ford 3:34
    2. "Roots, Rock, Reggae"   Vincent Ford 3:38
    3. "Johnny Was"   Rita Marley 3:48
    4. "Cry to Me"   Rita Marley 2:36
    5. "Want More"   Aston Barrett 4:14
    Side two  
    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    6. "Crazy Baldhead"   Rita Marley, Vincent Ford 3:12
    7. "Who the Cap Fit"   Aston Barrett, Carlton Barrett 4:43
    8. "Night Shift"   Bob Marley 3:10
    9. "War"   Allen Cole, Carlton Barrett 3:36
    10. "Rat Race"   Rita Marley 2:50


    Bob Marley and the Wailers
    • Bob Marley – vocals
    • Earl "Chinna" Smith – guitar, percussion
    • Al Anderson – guitar
    • Carlton Barrett – drums
    • Aston Barrett – bass guitar
    • Jean Alain Roussel – Hammond Organ on "Positive Vibrations" and "Roots, Rock, Reggae"
    • Tyrone Downie – keyboards


    • I Threes – backing vocals
    • Tommy McCook – saxophone on "Roots, Rock, Reggae"
    • Donald Kinsey – guitar overdubs on "Johnny Was" and "Roots, Rock, Reggae"

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 900331
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £16.99

    • Ex Tax: £16.99