• Galliano - In Pursuit Of The 13th Note
    (Talkin' Loud Records  1991  8484931)
    Matrix No's: A1/B2 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyls in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

    Galliano was a London-based acid jazz group that was active between 1988 and 1997. The group was the first signing to Eddie Piller and Gilles Peterson's Acid Jazz record label. The original members were Rob Gallagher (vocals - credited as Roberto Galliano), Constantine Weir (vocals), Michael Snaith (The Vibe Controller) and Crispin Robinson (percussion). Other important members included Valerie Etienne, who participated in the recording of all their CDs, along with other musicians such as Mick Talbot on keyboards, Crispin Taylor on drums Ernie McKone on bass guitar, Mark Vandergucht guitar and Steve Ameedee, otherwise known as Uncle Big Man (dancer).

    The group's first single, a reworking of Curtis Mayfield's "Freddie's Dead" called "Frederick Lies Still", was released in June 1988. It was also the first release on the Acid Jazz label.

    Galliano achieved the peak of its success in 1994 with The Plot Thickens which peaked at number seven in the UK album chart.

    Galliano provided the track used in the title sequence of Kevin Reynolds' 1997 film, One Eight Seven, starring Samuel L. Jackson. The track "Slack Hands" appears on their 1996 album :4.

    In 1997, Gallagher broke Galliano up, and pursued other musical projects, Two Banks of Four and Earl Zinger (the reggae singer).

    In Pursuit of the 13th Note is the debut album by United Kingdom acid jazz group Galliano. It was released on Gilles Peterson's Talkin' Loud record label on 25 March 1991. Although a studio album, the performances were recorded live.

    Track listing

    No. Title Writing credit Length
    1. "Leg In The Sea Of History" Rob Galliano 3:50
    2. "Welcome To The Story" R.Galliano 4:13
    3. "Coming On Strong" R.Galliano, C.Bangs 4:14
    4. "Sweet Like Your Favourite Gears" R.Galliano 2:05
    5. "Cemetary Of Drums (Theme From Buhaina)" R.Galliano 2:30
    6. "Five Sons Of The Mother" R.Galliano, C.Bangs 4:27
    7. "Storm Clouds Gather" R.Galliano, C.Bangs 4:20
    8. "Nothing has Changed" R.Galliano, C.Bangs 4:46
    9. "57th Minute Of The 23rd Hour" R.Galliano 3:54
    10. "Power And Glory" R.Galliano 4:41
    11. "Stoned Again" R.Galliano 4:20
    12. "Reviewing The Situation" R.Galliano, C.Robinson 3:21
    13. "Little Ghetto Boy" R.Galliano 4:24
    14. "Me My mike My lyrics" R.Galliano, C.Bangs 4:19
    15. "Love Bomb" R.Galliano 1:31
    16. "Power And Glory (Live Jazz Mix)" R.Galliano 4:18
    17. "Welcome To The Story (A Good Mix)" R.Galliano 6:08


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 8484931
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £26.99

    • Ex Tax: £26.99