• Van Morrison - Hymns To The Silence
    (Polydor Records  1991  8490261)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1/A1/B1

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    - small dink on top left corner and a little light rubbing near the top
    Inner Sleeves in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition


    Sir George Ivan Morrison OBE (born 31 August 1945) is a Northern Irish singer-songwriter, instrumentalist and record producer. His professional career began as a teenager in the late 1950s playing a variety of instruments including guitar, harmonica, keyboards and saxophone for various Irish showbands, covering the popular hits of that time. Van Morrison rose to prominence in the mid-1960s as the lead singer of the Northern Irish R&B band Them, with whom he recorded the garage band classic "Gloria". His solo career began under the pop-hit oriented guidance of Bert Berns with the release of the hit single "Brown Eyed Girl" in 1967. After Berns's death, Warner Bros. Records bought out his contract and allowed him three sessions to record Astral Weeks (1968). Though this album gradually garnered high praise, it was initially a poor seller.

    Moondance (1970) established Morrison as a major artist, and he built on his reputation throughout the 1970s with a series of acclaimed albums and live performances. He continues to record and tour, producing albums and live performances that sell well and are generally warmly received, sometimes collaborating with other artists, such as Georgie Fame and The Chieftains.

    Much of Morrison's music is structured around the conventions of soul music and R&B, such as the popular singles "Brown Eyed Girl", "Jackie Wilson Said (I'm in Heaven When You Smile)", "Domino" and "Wild Night". An equal part of his catalogue consists of lengthy, loosely connected, spiritually inspired musical journeys that show the influence of Celtic tradition, jazz and stream-of-consciousness narrative, such as the album Astral Weeks and the lesser known Veedon Fleece and Common One. The two strains together are sometimes referred to as "Celtic soul". He has received two Grammy Awards, the 1994 Brit Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music, the 2017 Americana Music Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting and has been inducted into both the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the Songwriters Hall of Fame. In 2016, he was knighted for services to the music industry and to tourism in Northern Ireland. He is known by the nickname Van the Man to his fans.

    Hymns to the Silence is the twenty-first studio album by Northern Irish singer-songwriter Van Morrison. It was his first studio double album. Morrison recorded the album in 1990 in Beckington at Wool Hall Studios and in London at Townhouse and Westside Studios.

    When Hymns to the Silence was released in 1991, it reached number five on the UK Albums Chart and received positive reviews from critics. Morrison's use of various musical styles was well received, as were the more worldly-themed songs on an otherwise spiritual album.

    Track listing

    All songs written by Van Morrison unless noted.

    Vinyl one

    1. "Professional Jealousy" – 3:42
    2. "I'm Not Feeling It Anymore" – 6:34
    3. "Ordinary Life" – 3:29
    4. "Some Peace of Mind" – 6:24
    5. "So Complicated" – 3:18
    6. "I Can't Stop Loving You" - (Gibson) – 3:54 (With The Chieftains)
    7. "Why Must I Always Explain?" – 3:50
    8. "Village Idiot" – 3:13
    9. "See Me Through, Pt. 2 (Just a Closer Walk with Thee)" - (Traditional) – 3:10
    10. "Take Me Back" – 9:11

    Vinyl two

    1. "By His Grace" – 2:34
    2. "All Saints Day" – 2:28
    3. "Hymns to the Silence (song)" – 9:42
    4. "On Hyndford Street" – 5:17
    5. "Be Thou My Vision" - (Traditional) – 3:49 (With The Chieftains)
    6. "Carrying a Torch" – 4:26
    7. "Green Mansions" – 3:38
    8. "Pagan Streams" – 3:38
    9. "Quality Street" - (Morrison, Rebennack) – 3:57
    10. "It Must Be You" – 4:08
    11. "I Need Your Kind of Loving" – 4:31


    • Van Morrison - vocal, guitar, harmonica, alto saxophone
    • Haji Ahkba - flugelhorn
    • Derek Bell - synthesizer
    • The Chieftains
    • Terry Disley - piano
    • Neil Drinkwater - accordion, piano, synthesizer
    • Candy Dulfer - alto saxophone
    • Dave Early - drums, percussion
    • Georgie Fame - piano, Hammond organ, backing vocals
    • Eddie Friel - piano, Hammond organ, synthesizer
    • Steve Gregory - flute, baritone saxophone
    • Carol Kenyon - backing vocals
    • Katie Kissoon - backing vocals
    • Steve Pearce - bass
    • Paul Robinson - drums
    • Nicky Scott - bass
    • Kate St John - cor anglais

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 8490261
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £59.99

    • Ex Tax: £59.99