• Throwing Muses - Hunkpapa
    (4AD Records  1989  CAD4002)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Flipback Textured Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Throwing Muses is an alternative rock band formed in 1981 in Newport, Rhode Island, that toured and recorded extensively until 1997, when its members began concentrating more on other projects. The group was originally fronted by two lead singers, Kristin Hersh, and Tanya Donelly, who both wrote the group's songs. Throwing Muses are known for performing music with shifting tempos, creative chord progressions, unorthodox song structures, and surreal lyrics. The group was set apart from other contemporary acts by Hersh's stark, candid writing style; Donelly's pop stylings and vocal harmonies; and David Narcizo's unusual drumming techniques eschewing use of cymbals. Hersh's hallucinatory, feverish lyrics occasionally touch on the subject of mental illness, more often drawing portraits of characters from daily life or addressing relationships.

    Hunkpapa is a studio album by Throwing Muses, released in 1989. It peaked at number 59 on the UK Albums Chart. NME named it the 33rd best album of 1989.

    Track listing

    All tracks written by Kristin Hersh, except "Dragonhead" and "Angel" by Tanya Donelly.

    No. Title Length
    1. "Devil's Roof" 3:39
    2. "Bea" 4:18
    3. "Dizzy" 3:41
    4. "No Parachutes" 3:17
    5. "Dragonhead" 4:04
    6. "Say Goodbye" 0:37
    7. "Fall Down" 3:40
    8. "I'm Alive" 2:49
    9. "Angel" 3:24
    10. "Mania" 3:02
    11. "The Burrow" 1:20
    12. "Take" 4:57


    Throwing Muses

    • Kristin Hersh – guitar, piano, vocals
    • Tanya Donelly – guitar, vocals
    • Leslie Langston – bass guitar, vocals
    • David Narcizo – drums, percussion, vocals

    Additional musicians

    • Bernie Worrell – keyboards
    • Russ Gershon – tenor saxophone
    • Tom Halter – trumpet, flugelhorn
    • Russell Jewell – trombone
    • Guy Yarden – violin

    Technical personnel

    • Gary Smith – production
    • Steve Haigler – engineering
    • Matt Lane – engineering assistance
    • Phil Magnotti – engineering assistance
    • Greg Calbi – mastering


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: CAD901
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £13.99

    • Ex Tax: £13.99