• Wishbone Ash - Argus
    (MCA Records  1973  MCA49  US Press)

    Gatefold Sleeve in Very Good+ condition
     - some wear to edges/corners, some rubbing, some creasing near bottom of sleeve
    Back cover has small EMI sticker at top and "Export Only" sticker at bottom

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)


    Wishbone Ash are a British rock band who achieved success in the early and mid-1970s. Their popular albums included Wishbone Ash (1970), Pilgrimage (1971), Argus (1972), There's the Rub (1974), and New England (1976). Wishbone Ash are noted for their extensive use of the harmony twin lead guitar format which had been attracting electric blues bands since Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page had played together in the Yardbirds in 1966. Their contributions helped Andy Powell and Ted Turner to be voted "Two of the Ten Most Important Guitarists in Rock History" (Traffic magazine 1989), and to appear in the "Top 20 Guitarists of All Time" (Rolling Stone). Melody Maker (1972) described Powell and Turner as "the most interesting two guitar team since the days when Beck and Page graced The Yardbirds".

    Formed in Torquay, Devon, in 1969, out of the ashes of trio The Empty Vessels (originally known as The Torinoes, later briefly being renamed Tanglewood in 1969), which had been formed by Wishbone Ash's founding member Martin Turner (bass & vocals) in 1963 and complemented by Steve Upton (drums and percussion) in 1966. The original Wishbone Ash line-up was completed by guitarists/vocalists Andy Powell and Ted Turner. In 1974, Ted Turner left the band, and was replaced by Laurie Wisefield. The band continued on with strong critical and commercial success until 1980.

    After revolving line-ups featuring former bass players from King Crimson (John Wetton), Uriah Heep (Trevor Bolder), and Trapeze (Mervyn Spence), Wisefield left in 1985. In 1987, however, the original line-up reunited for several albums – Nouveau Calls, Here to Hear and Strange Affair – until 1990, when Upton quit the band. After Martin Turner was replaced in 1991, the band recorded The Ash Live in Chicago, before Ted Turner left in 1993.

    Argus is the third album by the rock band Wishbone Ash. It is the most popular Wishbone Ash album and widely considered their greatest by fans and reviewers. It was named "Album of the Year" in the 1972 year-end issue of Sounds magazine. The album features a blend of progressive rock, folk, and hard rock, and is considered a landmark album in the progression of twin-lead guitar harmonisation later adopted by bands such as Thin Lizzy and Iron Maiden. The sound engineer on Argus was Martin Birch, who also worked with Deep Purple, later with Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden and other hard rock/heavy metal bands. The bulk of the melodies and lyrics were provided by bassist/lead vocalist Martin Turner, although all members contributed to the song arrangements.

    With the success of Argus, the band also became one of the most popular live attractions of the day.

    Track listing

    All songs composed by Andy Powell, Martin Turner, Ted Turner and Steve Upton

    Side one

    1. "Time Was" – 9:42 (Lead vocals – Ted Turner, Martin Turner)
    2. "Sometime World" – 6:55 (Lead vocals – Martin Turner, Andy Powell)
    3. "Blowin' Free" – 5:18 (Lead vocals – Martin Turner, Andy Powell, Ted Turner)

    Side two

    1. "The King Will Come" – 7:06 (Lead vocals – Martin Turner, Andy Powell)
    2. "Leaf and Stream" – 3:55 (Lead vocals – Martin Turner)
    3. "Warrior" – 5:53 (Lead vocals – Martin Turner, Andy Powell)
    4. "Throw Down the Sword" – 5:55 (Lead vocals – Martin Turner, Andy Powell)


    • Martin Turner – bass, vocals
    • Andy Powell – guitar, vocals
    • Ted Turner – guitar, vocals
    • Steve Upton – drums
    • John Tout – organ on "Throw Down The Sword"

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: MCA49
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £8.99

    • Ex Tax: £8.99