• Thunderclap Newman - Hollywood Dream
    (MCA Records  1980  MCA354  US Press)

    Sleeve in Very Good+ condition
    - some wear to edges/corners & some ringwear on the back

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

    Thunderclap Newman was a British rock band that Pete Townshend of the Who and Kit Lambert formed in 1969 in a bid to showcase the talents of John "Speedy" Keen, Jimmy McCulloch, and Andy "Thunderclap" Newman.

    Their single, "Something in the Air", a 1969 UK number one hit, remains in demand for television commercials, film soundtracks and compilations. The band released a critically acclaimed rock album, Hollywood Dream, and three other singles (which appeared on the album), "Accidents", "The Reason" and "Wild Country".

    From 1969 until 1971, the nucleus of the band consisted of the songwriter John "Speedy" Keen (vocals, drums, guitar), Andy "Thunderclap" Newman (piano) and Jimmy McCulloch (guitar). Pete Townshend (using the alias "Bijou Drains") played bass guitar on their album and singles, all of which he had recorded and produced at the IBC Studio and his Twickenham home studio. The band augmented its personnel during its tours: in 1969 with James "Jim" Pitman-Avery (bass guitar) and Jack McCulloch (drums); and in 1971 with Ronnie Peel (bass guitar) and Roger Felice (drums). The band folded in April 1971 but was resurrected by Andy Newman with a new group around 2007.

    Hollywood Dream is the only studio album by British rock band Thunderclap Newman.

    The album was produced by The Who's guitarist and songwriter Pete Townshend, who was also responsible for the band's initial formation. Townshend helped the group to obtain a recording contract with Track Records, a company formed by Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp, who were managers of The Who. Townshend also played bass on the album, credited under the pseudonym "Bijou Drains", although the later CD releases do not credit him. Track Records licensed the recordings to Atlantic Records for initial release in the U.S.

    The group's first single, "Something in the Air", was a UK number 1 hit and is the song for which Thunderclap Newman are best known. The single also reached #37 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in the U.S. The album was recorded after the initial U.K. success of the first single.

    The original 1970 release opened with "Hollywood #1", with the title track, an instrumental by young guitarist Jimmy McCulloch, appearing toward the end of Side 2. The album then culminated in a reprise of the opener, "Hollywood #2" (featuring a miscellany of instruments including soprano saxophones, glockenspiel, sleigh bells, a Japanese battle cymbal and a Chinese temple block), and finally "Something in the Air".

    In 1973 the album was reissued in the U.S. with different cover art by MCA Records. For its CD release in 1991, "Something in the Air" was moved to the start of the record. This version also added the single versions of "Something In The Air" (the single version's mix differed from the album version), "Accidents" and "The Reason", and the three non-album B-sides as bonus tracks.

    "Something in the Air" makes a brief appearance in the 1969 film The Magic Christian starring Peter Sellers and Ringo Starr. It also appears on the accompanying soundtrack LP.

    Track listing

    All songs written by Speedy Keen unless otherwise stated.

    1. "Hollywood #1" - 3:20
    2. "The Reason" - 4:05
    3. "Open the Door, Homer" (Bob Dylan) - 3:00
    4. "Look Around" - 2:59
    5. "Accidents" - 9:40
    6. "Wild Country" - 4:14
    7. "When I Think" - 3:06
    8. "The Old Cornmill" - 3:58
    9. "I Don't Know" - 3:44
    10. "Hollywood Dream" (Instrumental) (Jack McCulloch, Jimmy McCulloch) - 3:06
    11. "Hollywood #2" - 2:54
    12. "Something in the Air" – 3:54


    • John "Speedy" Keen – lead vocals, drums, percussion, acoustic guitar, conga, glockenspiel, gong, maracas
    • Andy Newman - piano, organ, soprano saxophone, bass saxophone, oboe, tin whistle, glockenspiel, cor anglais, Bengali flutes, Japanese battle cymbal, hand bell, Indian finger cymbals, sleigh bells, Chinese temple block, vocals
    • Jimmy McCulloch - acoustic guitar, electric guitar, maracas, wood block, backing vocals
    • Chris Morphet - harmonica (tracks 4 & 5)
    • Pete Townshend (originally credited as Bijou Drains) - bass
    • Ian Green - string arrangement ("Something in the Air")
    • Pete Townshend - producer
    • Graham Hughes - cover art
    • Chris Morphet - album spread photographs
    • Chris Stamp - special thanks

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: MCA354
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £9.99

    • Ex Tax: £9.99