• Simple Minds - Sister Feelings Call
    (Virgin Records  1981  OVED2)
    Matrix No's: A4/B2 - UK Pressing

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
    - a little wear to corners & 1 or 2 foxing discolouration spots


    Simple Minds are a Scottish rock band who achieved worldwide popularity from the mid-1980s to the early 1990s.

    The band produced a number of critically acclaimed albums in the early 1980s and best known for their No. 1 US, Canada and Netherlands hit single "Don't You (Forget About Me)", from the soundtrack of the John Hughes film The Breakfast Club. They are also known for the No. 3 US hit single "Alive and Kicking" and the No. 1 UK hit single "Belfast Child". The band has sold more than 60 million albums since 1979.

    The core of the band is the two remaining founder members – Jim Kerr (vocals, songwriting) and Charlie Burchill (guitars, keyboards after 1990, other instruments, songwriting) – and drummer Mel Gaynor (who first joined the band in 1982). The other current band members are Andy Gillespie (keyboards) and Ged Grimes (bass guitar). Significant former members include bass guitarist Derek Forbes and keyboard player Michael MacNeil (the latter credited as a significant band composer during the band's rise in the 1980s).

    Sons and Fascination/Sister Feelings Call is the current common title for the fourth album by the Scottish post-punk band Simple Minds. It was released in September 1981 and was their first to reach a wide international audience. It reached number eleven on the UK Albums Chart, number thirty-one on the Australian Kent Music Report chart, number 7 on the New Zealand RIANZ chart and number four the Swedish Sverigetopplistan chart. Since 1981 the album has been certified gold by the British Phonographic Industry. It includes the singles, "The American", " Love Song" and "Sweat in Bullet".

    Sons and Fascination and Sister Feelings Call were two separate albums. Both assembled from the same sessions and released at the same time and, in some instances, sold as a double-LP set. The two releases are variously categorised as a double album, two single albums or a single album and an extended play. The current CD remaster contains all the tracks once split onto two LPs, with their respective track running orders preserved. The original 1986 CD reissue deleted two songs from "Sister Feelings Call", as the maximum running time of redbook CD releases at the time would not accommodate the entire set, and Virgin were unwilling to issue it/them as a 2CD set.

    Track listing: Sister Feelings Call

    LP: Virgin / Virgin OVED 2 (UK)

    All lyrics written by J. Kerr, all music composed by Simple Minds.

    Side one  
    No. Title Length  
    1. "Theme for Great Cities"   5:50
    2. "The American"   3:49
    3. "20th Century Promised Land"   4:53
    Side two  
    No. Title Length  
    4. "Wonderful in Young Life"   5:20
    5. "League of Nations"   4:55
    6. "Careful in Career"   5:08
    7. "Sound in 70 Cities" (Dub mix of "70 Cities as Love Brings the Fall") 5:01


    • Jim Kerr – voice
    • Charlie Burchill – guitars
    • Mick MacNeil – keyboards
    • Derek Forbes – basses
    • Brian McGee – drums

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: OVED2
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £11.99

    • Ex Tax: £11.99