• Buzzcocks - Singles Going Steady
    (Liberty Records  1979/81  LBR1043)
    Matrix No's: A3/B2 - UK Pressing

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    G&L Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
     - some slight wear

    Buzzcocks are an English punk rock band, formed in Bolton in 1976 by singer-songwriter-guitarist Pete Shelley and singer-songwriter Howard Devoto.

    They are regarded as an important influence on the Manchester music scene, the independent record label movement, punk rock, power pop, pop punk and indie rock. They achieved commercial success with singles that fused pop craftsmanship with rapid-fire punk energy. These singles were collected on Singles Going Steady, described by critic Ned Raggett as a "punk masterpiece".

    Devoto and Shelley chose the name "Buzzcocks" after reading the headline, "It's the buzz, cocks!", in a review of the TV series Rock Follies in Time Out magazine. The "buzz" is the excitement of playing on stage; "cock" is Manchester slang meaning "mate" (as in friend/buddy). They thought it captured the excitement of the Sex Pistols and nascent punk scene.

    Singles Going Steady is a compilation album by English punk band Buzzcocks, released in September 1979 in the US and November 1981 in the UK through EMI Records. It features their United Kingdom single releases from 1977–1979, along with their corresponding B-sides.

    Track listing

    Side one  
    No. Title Writer(s) Originally from Length  
    1. "Orgasm Addict"   Howard Devoto, Pete Shelley Non-album single 2:00
    2. "What Do I Get?"   Shelley Non-album single 2:52
    3. "I Don't Mind"   Shelley Another Music in a Different Kitchen 2:16
    4. "Love You More"   Shelley Non-album single 1:47
    5. "Ever Fallen in Love (With Someone You Shouldn't've)"   Shelley Love Bites 2:39
    6. "Promises"   Steve Diggle, Shelley Non-album single 2:34
    7. "Everybody's Happy Nowadays"   Shelley Non-album single 3:09
    8. "Harmony in My Head"   Diggle Non-album single 3:06
    Side two  
    No. Title Writer(s) Originally from Length  
    1. "What Ever Happened To?"   Dial, Shelley "Orgasm Addict" single 2:12
    2. "Oh Shit!"   Shelley "What Do I Get?" single 1:34
    3. "Autonomy"   Diggle Another Music in a Different Kitchen 3:41
    4. "Noise Annoys"   Shelley "Love You More" single 2:49
    5. "Just Lust"   Alan Dial, Shelley Love Bites 2:58
    6. "Lipstick"   Diggle, Shelley "Promises" single 2:36
    7. "Why Can't I Touch It?"   Diggle, Steve Garvey, John Maher, Shelley "Everybody's Happy Nowadays" single 6:32
    8. "Something's Gone Wrong Again"   Shelley "Harmony in My Head" single 4:29



    • Pete Shelley – vocals, guitar
    • Steve Diggle – guitar, vocals
    • Steve Garvey – bass guitar
    • John Maher – drums, vocals

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: LBR1043
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £22.99

    • Ex Tax: £22.99