• The Champs - Go Champs Go!
    (London Records   LPX459)

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    The Champs were an American rock and roll band, most famous for their Latin-tinged instrumental "Tequila". The group took their name from the name of Gene Autry's horse, Champion, and was formed by studio executives at Gene Autry's Challenge Records to record a B-side for the Dave Burgess (a.k.a. Dave Dupree) single, "Train to Nowhere". The intended throwaway track became more famous than its A-side, as "Tequila" went to No. 1 in just three weeks and the band became the first group to go to the top spot with an instrumental that was their first release. The song was recorded at Gold Star Studios in fall 1957, and in 1959 won the Grammy Award for Best R&B Performance. It sold over one million copies, and was awarded a gold disc by the RIAA.

    "Tequila!" was written by the saxophonist Danny Flores, although he was credited as Chuck Rio because he was under contract to another record label at the time. Flores, who died in September 2006, was known as the "Godfather of Latino rock." Flores' "dirty sax" and his low-voiced "Tequila!" are the hallmarks of the song.[5] Flores signed away the U.S. rights to the song but retained worldwide rights until his death.

    There are many cover versions of the tune, including a jazz version by guitarist Wes Montgomery in 1966. It has also been recorded by rappers A.L.T. and XL Singleton. The Champs also had success with instrumentals such as "Limbo Rock" and "El Rancho Rock". In 1985 "Tequila" featured prominently in the film Pee Wee's Big Adventure.

    The Champs also recorded a sequel to Tequila entitled "Too Much Tequila".

    Band members

    • Chuck Rio - saxophone, vocals (born "Daniel Flores" on July 11, 1929, Santa Paula, California, died September 19, 2006, Huntington Beach, California)
    • Dave Burgess - rhythm guitar (a.k.a. "Dave Dupree", born December 13, 1934, Beverly Hills, California)
    • Dale Norris - lead guitar (born Springfield, Missouri)
    • Buddy Bruce - lead guitar
    • Bob Morris - bass guitar (born Hasty, Arkansas)
    • Dean McDaniel - bass (born June 28, 1943, Arkansas City, Kansas, died November 1, 2006, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)
    • Benjamin Van Norman - bass (born July 19, 1928, Ann Arbor, Michigan, died November 3, 1958 Buena Park, California in a car accident)
    • Cliff Hills - bass
    • Joseph A. Bernas - bass player (died April 12, 1999)
    • Gene Alden - drums (born 1930)
    • Dean Beard - piano (born August 31, 1935, Santa Anna, Texas, died April 4, 1989, in Coleman, Texas)
    • Seals and Crofts

    Later band members included Glen Campbell, Jerry Cole, Chuck Downs - drums, Rich Grissom, Johnny Meeks (of Gene Vincent and the Blue Caps) - guitar, Gary Nieland - drums, Jerry Puckett - guitar, Marvin Siders, and Leon Sanders. The last lineup of the band, in 1965, included Johnny Trombatore, who co-wrote some songs with Jim Seals, Dash Crofts, Maurice Marshall, bassist Curtis Paul and Seals' replacement on saxophone, Keith MacKendrick.


    A1 Go Champ Go 1:57
    A2 El Rancho Rock 2:18
    A3 I'll Be There 2:59
    A4 Sky High 2:16
    A5 What's Up, Buttercup 2:25
    A6 Lollipop 2:06
    B1 Tequila 2:09
    B2 Train To Nowhere 2:16
    B3 Midnighter 2:08
    B4 Robot Walk 1:46
    B5 Just Walking In The Rain 2:23
    B6 Night Beat 2:11

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: LPX459
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £10.99

    • Ex Tax: £10.99