• Stretch - You Can't Beat Your Brain For Entertainment
    (Anchor Records  1976  ANCL2016)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
    - a little ringwear top & bottom

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Stretch were a 1970s British rock band that grew from the collaboration between Elmer Gantry (real name Dave Terry) and Kirby (real name Graham) Gregory. Gantry had been the frontman of Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera. Kirby had been a member of Curved Air.

    The band was put together in 1974 with help from Fleetwood Mac manager Clifford Davis and drummer Mick Fleetwood[, to perform as Fleetwood Mac on a US tour because the existing Fleetwood Mac were not in a position to fulfil outstanding contractual obligations. However, Fleetwood did not join the tour as planned, and later denied any knowledge or involvement, and partway through the tour it became obvious to audiences that there was no original member of Fleetwood Mac in the band, and the tour collapsed. Bass player Paul Martinez claimed, "Mick Fleetwood pulled out at the last minute claiming not to know who we were!"

    Stretch rose from the ashes of this debacle, and soon had a No. 16 hit single in November 1975 with "Why Did You Do It?", the lyric of which was a direct attack on Mick Fleetwood for his failure to join the band on the ill-fated US tour. In the official video for the record bass player Paul Martinez wore a traditional keffiyeh head-dress. Besides bass player Martinez, guitarist Kirby and Jim Russell on drums and tambourine, the single featured electric guitar by Hiroshi Kato and horns by Bud Beadle, Chris Mercer, Mick Eve, Mike Bailey and Ron Carthy. The band followed the single up with the album Elastique, but during the recording of this album, Martinez was sacked.

    Drummer Jim Russell left the band before the recording of the second album, You Can't Beat Your Brain for Entertainment, due to musical differences.[5] He was replaced by future Status Quo drummer Jeff Rich. Two more albums were made, but Gantry left before the last album, Forget the Past. Another blow came in 1979 when manager Davis decided to withdraw his financial input, and the band eventually split up.

    In 1999 Italian DJ Gigi D'Agostino used distorted vocal samples from the first line of the song "Why Did You Do It?", in order to produce his own track "Bla Bla Bla". The samples were deliberately used in a way that made the vocals make no sense.

    Stretch reformed in 2007 to coincide with a "Greatest Hits" collection, and toured in support of the Jeff Healey Band.

    In 2011 the band released the album Unfinished Business, an 11-track recording for Repertoire Records including original songs, covers and a new version of "Why Did You Do It?".


    Current members
    • Elmer Gantry (Elmer Terry) – vocals, guitar (1974–78, 2007–present)
    • Kirby Gregory (Graham Gregory) – guitar, vocals (1974–79, 2007–present)
    • Jim Scadding – bass guitar (2007–present)
    • Justin Hildreth – drums (2009–present)
    Former members
    • Paul Martinez – bass guitar (1974–75)
    • Craig Collinge – drums (1974)
    • John Wilkinson – keyboards (1974)
    • Jim Russell – drums (1974–76)
    • Hiroshi Kato – guitar (1974)
    • John Cook – keyboards (1975)
    • Dave Evans – bass guitar (1975–76)
    • Steve Emery – bass guitar (1976–79)
    • Jeff Rich – drums (1976–78, 2007–09)
    • Nicko McBrain – drums (1978–79)
    * The band that toured as Fleetwood Mac consisted of Gantry, Kirby, Martinez, Wilkinson and Collinge. The absence of a female member also contributed to audiences realising that this was not the authentic group, since Fleetwood Mac featured Christine McVie on keyboards.


    A1 Fixin' To Die

    Written-By – Bukka Wyatt*

    A2 If The Cap Fits

    Written-By – Gantry*

    A3 The Way Life Is

    Written-By – Kirby*

    A4 That's The Way The Wind Blows

    Written-By – Gantry*, Kirby*

    A5 Hold Up The Light

    Written-By – Gantry*, Kirby*

    B1 Can't Get Enough

    Written-By – Gantry*, Kirby*

    B2 Hold On

    Written-By – Gantry*, Kirby*

    B3 Put Your Hands Up

    Written-By – Gantry*

    B4 Love's Got A Hold On Me

    Written-By – Kirby*

    B5 Feelin' Sad

    Written-By – Jones*


    • Artwork [Title] – Richard O'Brien (5)
    • Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals – Steve Emery (2)
    • Drums – Jeff Rich
    • Illustration [Front Cover Drawing] – Jonathan Hooper (2)
    • Lacquer Cut By [Cut] – George "Porky" Peckham*
    • Lead Guitar, Slide Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocals – Kirby*
    • Lead Vocals, Electric Guitar, Backing Vocals, Harmonica – Elmer Gantry
    • Other [Special Thanx] – Phil McDonnell, Ritchie Riggs
    • Other [Thanx Also] – Bunt, Magnet, Pete, Terry
    • Photography By [Back Cover] – Alan Messer
    • Producer – Elmer*, Kirby*
    • Recorded By – Louie Austin*, Simon*
    • Recorded By, Mixed By – Victor (This Won't Take A Minute) Gamm*


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: ANCL2016
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £5.99

    • Ex Tax: £5.99