• Sparks - 2 Originals Of Sparks
    (Bearsville Records  1975  K85505)
    Matrix No's: A2/B2/A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
    - some slight wear

    Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Sparks are an American pop band formed in Los Angeles in 1971 by brothers Ron (keyboards) and Russell Mael (vocals), renamed from Halfnelson, formed in 1968. Known for their quirky approach to songwriting, Sparks' music is often accompanied by intelligent, sophisticated, and acerbic lyrics, and an idiosyncratic, theatrical stage presence, typified in the contrast between Russell's animated, hyperactive frontman antics and Ron's deadpan scowling. They are also noted for Russell Mael's falsetto voice and Ron Mael's keyboard style.

    While achieving chart success in various countries around the world including the United Kingdom, Germany, France, and the United States, they have enjoyed a cult following since their first releases. During the late 1970s, when in collaboration with Giorgio Moroder (and Telex subsequently), Sparks reinvented themselves as a new wave/synthpop duo, and abandoned the traditional rock band line up. Their frequently changing styles and visual presentations have kept the band at the forefront of modern, artful pop music.

    The 2002 release of Lil' Beethoven, their "genre-defying opus", as well as the more recent albums Hello Young Lovers (2006, their 20th studio album), Exotic Creatures of the Deep (2008), and their latest fantasy musical The Seduction of Ingmar Bergman (2009–2010) have brought Sparks renewed critical and commercial success, and seen them continue to "steer clear of pop conventions." The band also released an album with Scottish indie rock band Franz Ferdinand, as the supergroup FFS, titled FFS, released on June 8, 2015.

    Sparks are best known for the songs "This Town Ain't Big Enough for Both of Us", which reached number 2 in the British charts in 1974; the electronic hit "The Number One Song in Heaven" in 1979; "When I'm With You" which topped the French Charts in 1980; the single "I Predict", which provided Sparks' first appearance on the Billboard Hot 100, reaching No. 60 in May 1982; the 1983 single "Cool Places" with Go-Go Jane Wiedlin, and "When Do I Get To Sing 'My Way'" which topped the German and European charts in 1994/95 and was the top airplay record in Germany for 1994.

    Sparks, originally titled Halfnelson, is the debut album by the Los Angeles rock band Sparks. The album was first released as Halfnelson, the band's original name, and reissued a year later as an eponymous album by Sparks.

    A Woofer in Tweeter's Clothing is the second studio album by the American rock band Sparks. It was released in 1973 and includes the single "Girl From Germany". It was the last release by the original five-member incarnation of Sparks.

    The band recorded and mixed the songs for album at ID Sound at La Brea and Walley Heider Studios and was produced by Thaddeus James Lowe, who was at the time Todd Rundgren's engineer and had been lead singer of The Electric Prunes. Receiving mixed to positive reviews the album was originally released as an LP in 1973. The artwork was photographed by Larry DuPont and Ron Mael.

    Track listing

    Side one
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    1. "Wonder Girl" Ron Mael 2:21
    2. "Fa La Fa Lee" Ron Mael 2:53
    3. "Roger" Russell Mael 2:37
    4. "High C" Ron Mael 3:13
    5. "Fletcher Honorama" Ron Mael 4:15
    6. "Simple Ballet" Russell Mael, Ron Mael 3:53
    Side two
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    7. "Slowboat" Russell Mael, Ron Mael 3:54
    8. "Biology 2" Earle Mankey 3:10
    9. "Saccharin and the War" Russell Mael 4:02
    10. "Big Bands" Ron Mael, Russell Mael 4:16
    11. "(No More) Mr. Nice Guys" Jim Mankey, Ron Mael 5:49


    • Russell Mael - vocals
    • Ron Mael - keyboards, piano, organ
    • Earle Mankey - guitar, lead vocal on "Biology 2"
    • Jim Mankey - bass guitar
    • Harley Feinstein - drums
    • Thaddeus James Lowe - engineer
    • Ron Mael - artwork
    • Larry Dupont - photography

    Track listing

    Side one
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    1. "Girl From Germany" Russell Mael, Ron Mael 3:26
    2. "Beaver O'Lindy" Ron Mael, Russell Mael, Earle Mankey, Jim Mankey, Harley Feinstein 3:44
    3. "Nothing is Sacred" Ron Mael 5:31
    4. "Here Comes Bob" Ron Mael, Russell Mael 2:09
    5. "Moon Over Kentucky" Ron Mael, lyrics: Jim Mankey 4:08
    Side two
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    6. "Do Re Mi" Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II 3:38
    7. "Angus Desire" Ron Mael, Russell Mael 3:25
    8. "Underground" Earle Mankey 2:59
    9. "The Louvre" Ron Mael; French Translation by Josée Becker 5:04
    10. "Batteries Not Included" Ron Mael 0:47
    11. "Whippings and Apologies" Ron Mael 5:05


    • Russell Mael - vocals
    • Ron Mael - keyboards
    • Earle Mankey - guitar
    • Jim Mankey - bass
    • Harley Feinstein - drums

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: K85505
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £18.49

    • Ex Tax: £18.49