• Dinosaur Jr - Where You Been
    (Blanco Y Negro Records  1993  BYN28)

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    Dinosaur Jr. is an American rock band formed in Amherst, Massachusetts in 1984, originally simply called Dinosaur until legal issues forced a change in name.

    The band was founded by J Mascis (guitar, vocals, primary songwriter), Lou Barlow (bass, vocals), and Murph (drums). After three albums on independent labels earned the band a reputation as one of the formative influences on American alternative rock, creative tension led to Mascis firing Barlow, who later formed Sebadoh and Folk Implosion. His replacement, Mike Johnson came aboard for three major-label albums. Murph eventually quit, with Mascis taking over drum duties on the band's albums before the group disbanded in 1997. The original lineup reformed in 2005, releasing three albums thereafter.

    Mascis's drawling vocals and distinct guitar sound, hearkening back to 1960s and '70s classic rock and characterized by high gain, extensive use of feedback and distortion, were highly influential in the alternative rock movement of the 1990s.

    Where You Been is the fifth official studio album by Dinosaur Jr., released on February 9, 1993.

    The song "Start Choppin'" was their biggest hit, reaching number 3 on the Modern Rock Tracks chart in the U.S., and the Top 20 of the UK Singles Chart. This was drummer Murph's last recording with J Mascis until 2007's Beyond.

    This was the only Dinosaur Jr. album between 1988's Bug and 2007's Beyond to be recorded entirely with a full band. During Dinosaur Jr.'s major label years, Mascis performed most of the instruments himself on record.

    The act peaked with 263,000 units sold in US.

    Track listing

    All songs written by J Mascis.

    No. Title Length
    1. "Out There" 5:52
    2. "Start Choppin" 5:39
    3. "What Else Is New" 5:09
    4. "On the Way" 3:27
    5. "Not the Same" 6:00
    6. "Get Me" 5:50
    7. "Drawerings" 4:49
    8. "Hide" 4:11
    9. "Goin Home" 4:14
    10. "I Ain't Sayin" 2:27
    Total length: 47:38


    Dinosaur Jr.
    • J Mascis – organ, guitar, piano, chimes, composer, drums on track 3, lead vocals, producer, timpani
    • Mike Johnson – bass, guitar, piano, backing vocals, first guitar solo on "Get Me"
    • Murph – drums
    Additional personnel
    • Tiffany Anders – vocals on "Get Me"
    • George Berz – tambourine
    • Kurt Fedora – rhythm guitar
    • Dave Mason – viola
    • Abie Newton – cello
    • Larry Packer – violin
    • Rob Turner – cello


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: BYN28
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £45.99

    • Ex Tax: £45.99