• The Beach Boys - Surf's Up
    (Stateside Records  1971  SSL10313)
    UK Pressing

    Textured Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
    - some slight wear to edges/corners

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    The Beach Boys are an American rock band formed in Hawthorne, California in 1961. The group's original lineup consisted of brothers Brian, Dennis, and Carl Wilson, their cousin Mike Love, and their friend Al Jardine. They emerged at the vanguard of the "California Sound", initially performing original surf songs that gained international popularity for their distinct vocal harmonies and lyrics reflecting a southern California youth culture of surfing, cars, and romance. Rooted in jazz-based vocal groups, 1950s rock and roll, and doo-wop, Brian led the band in devising novel approaches to music production, arranging his compositions for studio orchestras, and experimenting with several genres ranging from pop ballads to psychedelic and baroque.

    The group began as a garage band managed by the Wilsons' father Murry, with Brian's creative ambitions and sophisticated songwriting abilities dominating the group's musical direction. After 1964, their albums took a different stylistic path that featured more personal lyrics, multi-layered sounds, and recording experiments. In 1966, the Pet Sounds album and "Good Vibrations" single vaulted the group to the top level of rock innovators and established the band as symbols of the nascent counterculture era. Following Smile's dissolution, Brian gradually ceded production and songwriting duties to the rest of the band, reducing his input because of mental health and substance abuse issues. The group's public image subsequently faltered, and they struggled to reclaim their commercial momentum in America. The continued success of their greatest hits albums during the mid 1970s precipitated the band's transition into an oldies act, a move that was denigrated by fans and critics. Since the 1980s, much-publicized legal wrangling over royalties, songwriting credits and use of the band's name transpired.

    Dennis drowned in 1983 and Carl died of lung cancer in 1998. After Carl's death, many live configurations of the band fronted by Mike Love and Bruce Johnston continued to tour into the 2000s while other members pursued solo projects. For the band's 50th anniversary, all the current surviving members briefly reunited for a new studio album and world tour. Even though Wilson and Jardine do not perform with Love and Johnston's band, they remain a part of the Beach Boys' corporation, Brother Records Inc.

    The Beach Boys are regarded as the most iconic American band and one of the most critically acclaimed, commercially successful, and widely influential bands of all time, while AllMusic stated that their "unerring ability... made them America's first, best rock band." The group had over eighty songs chart worldwide, thirty-six of them US Top 40 hits (the most by an American rock band), four reaching number-one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The Beach Boys have sold in excess of 100 million records worldwide, making them one of the world's best-selling bands of all time and are listed at number 12 on Rolling Stone magazine's 2004 list of the "100 Greatest Artists of All Time". They have received one Grammy Award for The Smile Sessions (2011). The core quintet of the three Wilsons, Love and Jardine were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988.

    Surf's Up is the 17th studio album by American rock band the Beach Boys, released in 1971. It was met with a warm critical reception, and reached number 29 on US record charts, becoming their best performing album in years. In the UK the album peaked at number 15.

    Both the album's title and cover artwork are an ironic, self-aware nod to the removedness from the band's surf rock roots. Its name was taken from the song of the same title written by Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks five years earlier for the abandoned studio album Smile. Surf's Up's creative direction was largely influenced by newly employed band manager Jack Rieley, who strove to reinvent the group's image and reintroduce them into music's counter-culture. Two singles were issued in the US: "Long Promised Road" and "Surf's Up". Only the former charted, peaking at number 89.

    In 2004, the album was voted 154 in a German edition of Rolling Stone's "The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time" and ranked 61 on Pitchfork Media's "The Top 100 Albums Of The 1970s". It is listed in the musical reference book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

    Track listing

    Side one
    No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocal(s) Length
    1. "Don't Go Near the Water"   Mike Love/Al Jardine Mike Love/Al Jardine/Brian Wilson 2:39
    2. "Long Promised Road"   Carl Wilson/Jack Rieley Carl Wilson 3:30
    3. "Take a Load Off Your Feet"   Jardine/Brian Wilson/Gary Winfrey Brian Wilson/Jardine 2:29
    4. "Disney Girls (1957)"   Bruce Johnston Bruce Johnston 4:07
    5. "Student Demonstration Time"   Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller/Mike Love Love 3:58
    Side two
    No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocal(s) Length
    1. "Feel Flows"   C. Wilson/Rieley C. Wilson 4:44
    2. "Lookin' at Tomorrow (A Welfare Song)"   Jardine/Winfrey Jardine 1:55
    3. "A Day in the Life of a Tree"   B. Wilson/Rieley Jack Rieley/Van Dyke Parks/Jardine 3:07
    4. "'Til I Die"   B. Wilson C. Wilson/B. Wilson/Love 2:41
    5. "Surf's Up"   B. Wilson/Van Dyke Parks C. Wilson/B. Wilson/Jardine 4:12


    The Beach Boys
    • Al Jardine – vocals, guitars on "Don't Go Near the Water" and "Lookin' at Tomorrow", banjo on "Lookin' at Tomorrow"
    • Bruce Johnston – vocals
    • Mike Love – vocals, tambourine on "Student Demonstration Time"
    • Brian Wilson – vocals, tambourine on "Take a Load Off Your Feet", Baldwin organ and piano on "Feel Flows", harmonium on "A Day in the Life of a Tree", Hammond organ on "'Til I Die"
    • Carl Wilson – vocals, guitars, tambourine on "Don't Go Near the Water", keyboards on "Long Promised Road", fuzz guitar on "Feel Flows"
    • Dennis Wilson – vocals, drums
    Additional musicians and production staff
    • The Beach Boys – producer
    • Stephen Desper – chief engineer and mixer, Moog synthesizer on "Feel Flows" and "'Til I Die"
    • Daryl Dragon – guitar and Moog synthesizer on "Don't Go Near the Water", bass on "Student Demonstration Time", pipe organ on "A Day in the Life of a Tree", vibraphone on "'Til I Die"
    • Van Dyke Parks – vocals on "A Day in the Life of a Tree"
    • Jack Rieley – backing vocals in "Surf's Up" tag, lead vocals on "A Day in the Life of a Tree"
    • Ed Thrasher – original art direction

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: SSL10313
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £24.99

    • Ex Tax: £24.99