• The Style Council - Home & Abroad
    (Polydor Records  1986  TSCLP3)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Excellent condition
    - some foxing marks, some rubbing near top and a small scuff on the top spine
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    The Style Council were an English band formed in 1983 by Paul Weller, the former singer, songwriter, and guitarist with the punk rock/new wave/mod revival band The Jam, and keyboardist Mick Talbot, previously a member of Dexys Midnight Runners, The Bureau and The Merton Parkas. The band enabled Weller to take a more soulful direction with his music.

    The permanent line-up grew to include drummer Steve White and Weller's then-wife, vocalist Dee C. Lee. Other artists such as Tracie Young and Tracey Thorn (Everything but the Girl) also collaborated with the group. As with Weller's previous band, most of the London-based group's hits were in their homeland, where they scored seven Top 10 hits. The band also had hit singles and albums in Australia and New Zealand during the 1980s.

    Home and Abroad is a live album from the band The Style Council released in 1986. It was recorded on the tour supporting the band's 1985 album Our Favourite Shop. The album cover states the album title as Live! The Style Council, Home & Abroad.

    It is their first non-studio album and their only live album until 1998's In Concert. As was common at the time, the CD and cassette versions of the album featured two songs that did not appear on the LP. The album cover shows both Paul Weller and Mick Talbot sitting on a stool, although both Dee C. Lee and Steve White appear on the album.

    It received generally positive reviews, though in later Allmusic's single two stars out of five review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine, stating simply "Home & Abroad is a slick and earnest live set, but it's only of interest to die-hard Paul Weller fans."


    A1 My Ever Changing Moods
    A2 The Lodgers
    A3 Head Start For Happiness
    A4 (When You) Call Me
    A5 The Whole Point Of No Return
    B1 With Everything To Lose
    B2 Homebreakers
    B3 Shout To The Top
    B4 Walls Come Tumbling Down!
    B5 Internationalists


    • Paul Weller – Vocals, guitar
    • Mick Talbot – Keyboards
    • Dee C. Lee – Vocals
    • Steve White – Drums


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: TSCLP3
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £10.99

    • Ex Tax: £10.99