• Slade - On Stage
    (RCA Records  1982  RCALP3107)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing
    "Porky Prime Cut" in dead wax

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
     - some slight wear to edges

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    (there are 1 or 2 surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Slade are an English glam rock band from Wolverhampton. They rose to prominence during the early 1970s with 17 consecutive top 20 hits and six number ones on the UK Singles Chart. The British Hit Singles & Albums names them as the most successful British group of the 1970s based on sales of singles. They were the first act to have three singles enter the charts at number one; all six of the band's chart-toppers were penned by Noddy Holder and Jim Lea. As of 2006, total UK sales stand at 6,520,171, and their best-selling single, "Merry Xmas Everybody", has sold in excess of one million copies.

    Following an unsuccessful move to the United States in 1975, Slade's popularity waned but was unexpectedly revived in 1980 when they were last-minute replacements for Ozzy Osbourne at the Reading Rock Festival. The band later acknowledged this to have been one of the highlights of their career. The original line up split in 1992 but the band reformed later in the year as Slade II. The band have continued, with a number of lineup changes, to the present day. They have shortened the group name back to Slade.

    A number of diverse artists have cited Slade as an influence, including alternative rock icons Nirvana and the Smashing Pumpkins, punk pioneers The Ramones, Sex Pistols, The Undertones, The Runaways and The Clash, glam metal bands Kiss, Mötley Crüe, Poison, Def Leppard, heavy metal bands Twisted Sister and Quiet Riot and pop-rock stalwarts The Replacements, Cheap Trick and Oasis.

    The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Music tells of Holder's powerful vocals, guitarist Dave Hill's equally arresting dress sense and the deliberate misspelling of their song titles (such as "Cum On Feel the Noize") for which they became well known

    Slade on Stage was a live album by the British rock group Slade. It was recorded at Newcastle City Hall in 1981. It was released December 11, 1982 and reached number 58 in the UK charts. Their last live album had gone nowhere and although this one wasn't a massive seller, it did show the quality in their live performance.

    The album peaked at #620 for 1982 on rateyourmusic.

    Track listing

    1. "Rock 'n' Roll Preacher" - 5:19 (Holder/Lea)
    2. "When I'm Dancin' I Ain't Fightin'" - 3:43 (Holder/Lea)
    3. "Take Me Bak 'Ome" - 4:33 (Holder/Lea)
    4. "Everyday" - 3:18 (Holder/Lea)
    5. "Lock Up Your Daughters" - 4:03 (Holder/Lea)
    6. "We'll Bring the House Down" - 4:17 (Holder/Lea)
    7. "A Night to Remember" - 8:10 (Holder/Lea)
    8. "Gudbuy T'Jane" - 4:40 (Holder/Lea)
    9. "Mama Weer All Crazee Now" - 2:56 (Holder/Lea)
    10. "You'll Never Walk Alone" - 0:35 (Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein)



    • Noddy Holder - lead vocals, rhythm guitar
    • Dave Hill - lead guitar
    • Jim Lea - bass guitar, producer
    • Don Powell - drums

    Additional credits

    • Andrew Christian - sleeve design
    • Dave Garland - engineer
    • George Peckham - engineer (cutting)
    • Mike Robinson - mixing
    • Colin Newman - album title
    • Partridge Rushton - typography

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: RCALP3107
    • Availability: Out Of Stock
    • £13.99

    • Ex Tax: £13.99