• The Cure - Seventeen Seconds
    (Fiction Records  1980  FIX004)
    Matrix No's: A1/B3 - UK Pressing
    "STRAWBERRY" in dead wax

    Sleeve in Very Good+ condition
    - wear to edges/corners, a little ringwear & foxing/discolouration marks

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    The Cure are an English rock band formed in Crawley, West Sussex in 1976. The band has experienced several line-up changes, with vocalist, guitarist and principal songwriter Robert Smith being the only constant member.

    Their debut single "Killing an Arab" (1978) and debut album Three Imaginary Boys (1979) were important records in the development of the post-punk and new wave movements that developed in the wake of the punk rock scene in the United Kingdom. During the early 1980s, the band's increasingly dark and tormented music was a staple of the emerging style of music known as gothic rock.

    Following the release of the album Pornography in 1982, the band's future was uncertain. Smith was keen to move past the gloomy reputation his band had acquired, introducing a greater pop sensibility into the band's music. Songs such as "Let's Go to Bed" (1982), "Just Like Heaven" (1987), "Lovesong" (1989) and "Friday I'm in Love" (1992) aided the band in receiving commercial popularity. The band is estimated to have sold roughly 27 million records as of 2004 and have released thirteen studio albums, ten EPs and over thirty singles to date.

    Seventeen Seconds is the second studio album by English alternative rock band The Cure. It was released on 18 April 1980, through record label Fiction.

    It is the only Cure album to feature keyboardist Matthieu Hartley, as well as the first Cure album to be performed in a gothic rock style.

    Track listing

    All lyrics written by Robert Smith, all music composed by The Cure (Smith, Matthieu Hartley, Lol Tolhurst, Simon Gallup)

    Side one
    1. "A Reflection"
    2. "Play for Today"
    3. "Secrets"
    4. "In Your House"
    5. "Three"
    Side two
    1. "The Final Sound"
    2. "A Forest"
    3. "M"
    4. "At Night"
    5. "Seventeen Seconds"


    The Cure
    • Robert Smith – guitars, vocals, production
    • Matthieu Hartley – keyboards, production
    • Lol Tolhurst – drums, production
    • Simon Gallup – bass guitar, production
    • Mike Hedges – production, engineering
    • Chris Parry – production
    • David Kemp – engineering
    • Martyn Webster – engineering assistance

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: FIX004
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £27.99

    • Ex Tax: £27.99