• Grateful Dead - American Beauty
    (Warner Bros Records  WS1893  US Press  White Warners Labels)

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    - still in original shrinkwrap

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    The Grateful Dead was an American rock band formed in 1965 in Palo Alto, California. The band is known for its eclectic style, which fused elements of rock, folk, country, jazz, bluegrass, blues, gospel, and psychedelic rock; for live performances of lengthy instrumental jams; and for its devoted fan base, known as "Deadheads". "Their music", writes Lenny Kaye, "touches on ground that most other groups don't even know exists." These various influences were distilled into a diverse and psychedelic whole that made the Grateful Dead "the pioneering Godfathers of the jam band world". The band was ranked 57th by Rolling Stone magazine in its The Greatest Artists of All Time issue. The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1994 and a recording of their May 8, 1977 performance at Cornell University's Barton Hall was added to the National Recording Registry of the Library of Congress in 2012. The Grateful Dead has sold more than 35 million albums worldwide.

    The Grateful Dead was founded in the San Francisco Bay Area amid the rise of the counterculture of the 1960s.[12][13][14] The founding members were Jerry Garcia (lead guitar, vocals), Bob Weir (rhythm guitar, vocals), Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (keyboards, harmonica, vocals), Phil Lesh (bass, vocals), and Bill Kreutzmann (drums). Members of the Grateful Dead had played together in various San Francisco bands, including Mother McCree's Uptown Jug Champions and the Warlocks. Lesh was the last member to join the Warlocks before they became the Grateful Dead; he replaced Dana Morgan Jr., who had played bass for a few gigs. Drummer Mickey Hart and non-performing lyricist Robert Hunter joined in 1967. With the exception of McKernan, who died in 1973, and Hart, who took time off from 1971 to 1974, the core of the band stayed together for its entire 30-year history. The other official members of the band are Tom Constanten (keyboards; 1968–1970), John Perry Barlow (nonperforming lyricist; 1971–1995), Keith Godchaux (keyboards; 1971–1979), Donna Godchaux (vocals; 1972–1979), Brent Mydland (keyboards, vocals; 1979–1990), and Vince Welnick (keyboards, vocals; 1990–1995). Bruce Hornsby (accordion, piano, vocals) was a touring member from 1990 to 1992, as well as a guest with the band on occasion before and after the tours.

    After the death of Garcia in 1995, former members of the band, along with other musicians, toured as the Other Ones in 1998, 2000, and 2002, and the Dead in 2003, 2004, and 2009. In 2015, the four surviving core members marked the band's 50th anniversary in a series of concerts that were billed as their last performances together. There have also been several spin-offs featuring one or more core members, such as Dead & Company, Furthur, the Rhythm Devils, Phil Lesh and Friends, RatDog, and Billy & the Kids.

    American Beauty is the sixth album by the rock band the Grateful Dead. It was recorded between August and September 1970 and originally released in November 1970 by Warner Bros. Records. The album continued the folk rock and country music explored on Workingman's Dead and prominently features the lyrics of Robert Hunter.

    In 2003, the album was ranked number 258 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

    Track listing

    All songs written by Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter, except where noted.

    1. "Box of Rain" (Phil Lesh, Robert Hunter) – 5:18
    2. "Friend of the Devil" (Garcia, John Dawson, Hunter) – 3:24
    3. "Sugar Magnolia" (Bob Weir, Hunter) – 3:19
    4. "Operator" (Ron McKernan) – 2:25
    5. "Candyman" – 6:14
    6. "Ripple" – 4:09
    7. "Brokedown Palace" – 4:09
    8. "Till the Morning Comes" – 3:08
    9. "Attics of My Life" – 5:12
    10. "Truckin'" (Garcia, Lesh, Weir, Hunter) – 5:03


    Grateful Dead
    • Jerry Garcia – guitar, pedal steel, piano, vocals
    • Phil Lesh – bass, guitar, piano, vocals
    • Bob Weir – guitar, vocals
    • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) – harmonica, vocals
    • Mickey Hart – percussion
    • Bill Kreutzmann – drums
    • Robert Hunter – songwriter
    Additional musicians
    • Dave Torbert – bass on "Box of Rain"
    • David Nelson – electric guitar on "Box of Rain"
    • David Grisman – mandolin on "Friend of the Devil", "Ripple"
    • Howard Wales – organ on "Candyman", "Truckin'"; piano on "Brokedown Palace"
    • Ned Lagin – piano on "Candyman"
    • Produced by Grateful Dead
    • Co-producer, audio: Steve Barncard
    • Artwork: Kelley/Mouse Studios
    • Rear photo: George Conger

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: WS1893
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £34.99

    • Ex Tax: £34.99