• Elvis Costello and The Attractions - Punch The Clock
    (F-Beat Records  1983  XXLP19)
    Matrix No's: A3/B4

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

    Declan Patrick MacManus (born 25 August 1954), better known by his stage name Elvis Costello, is an English musician, singer-songwriter, and record producer. He began his career as part of London's pub rock scene in the early 1970s and later became associated with the first wave of the British punk and new wave movement that emerged in the mid-to-late 1970s. His critically acclaimed debut album, My Aim Is True, was released in 1977. Shortly after recording it, he formed the Attractions as his backing band. His second album, This Year's Model, was released in 1978, and was ranked number 11 by Rolling Stone on its list of the best albums from 1967–1987. His third album, Armed Forces, was released in 1979, and features his most successful single "Oliver's Army". His first three albums all appeared on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

    Costello and the Attractions toured and recorded together for the better part of a decade, though differences between them caused a split by 1986. Much of Costello's work since has been as a solo artist, though reunions with members of the Attractions have been credited to the group over the years. Steeped in wordplay, the vocabulary of Costello's lyrics is broad. His music has drawn on many diverse genres; one critic described him as a "pop encyclopaedia", able to "reinvent the past in his own image".

    He has won multiple awards in his career, including a Grammy Award, and has twice been nominated for the Brit Award for Best British Male Singer. In 2003, Costello and the Attractions were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. In 2004, Rolling Stone ranked Costello number 80 on their list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.

    Costello has co-written several original songs for motion pictures, including "God Give Me Strength" from Grace of My Heart (1996, with Burt Bacharach) and "The Scarlet Tide" from Cold Mountain (2003, with T-Bone Burnett). For the latter, Costello was nominated (along with Burnett) for the Academy Award for Best Original Song and the Grammy Award for Best Song Written for Visual Media.

    Punch the Clock is an album released in 1983 by Elvis Costello and the Attractions. It was Costello's eighth album, his seventh with the Attractions since 1978. The album featured Costello's first US Top 40 hit, "Everyday I Write the Book."

    In 2014, NME ranked it at number 345 in its list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

    Track listing

    All songs written by Elvis Costello unless otherwise indicated.

    Side one

    1. "Let Them All Talk" – 3:06
    2. "Everyday I Write the Book" – 3:54
    3. "The Greatest Thing" – 3:04
    4. "The Element Within Her" – 2:52
    5. "Love Went Mad" – 3:13
    6. "Shipbuilding" (Clive Langer, Costello) – 4:53

    Side two

    1. "T.K.O. (Boxing Day)" – 3:28
    2. "Charm School" – 3:55
    3. "The Invisible Man" – 3:04
    4. "Mouth Almighty" – 3:04
    5. "King of Thieves" – 3:45
    6. "Pills and Soap" – 3:43
    7. "The World and His Wife" – 3:32


    • Elvis Costello – vocals; Epiphone, Gretsch and Fender guitars; Synclavier and Casiotone; all sounds and voices on "Pills and Soap"
    • Steve Nieve – Bösendorfer piano, Emulator, Fairlight CMI, Vox organ, Hammond organ, Synclavier
    • Bruce Thomas – Electric Wal bass guitar
    • Pete Thomas – Gretsch Drums, Sabian cymbals

    The TKO Horns

    • Jim Paterson – trombone
    • Jeff Blythe – alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, clarinet
    • Paul Speare – tenor saxophone, flute
    • Dave Plews – trumpet

    Additional personnel

    • Stewart Robson – trumpet & flugelhorn on "The World and His Wife"
    • Afrodiziak (Caron Wheeler and Claudia Fontaine) – backing vocals
    • Chet Baker – trumpet solo on "Shipbuilding"
    • David Bedford – string arrangements
    • Morris Pert – percussion

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: XXLP19
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £7.99

    • Ex Tax: £7.99