• Rainbow - On Stage
    (Oyster/Polydor Records  1977  2657016)
    Matrix No's: A2/B2/A2/B3 - UK Pressing

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT- condition
    - some slight wear to edges
    Printed Inner Sleeves - first inner is split down one side

    Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Rainbow (also known as Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow or Blackmore's Rainbow) are a British rock supergroup led by guitarist Ritchie Blackmore, active from 1975 until 1984, 1993 until 1997, and 2015 until present. They were originally established with Ronnie James Dio's American rock band Elf, but after their first album, Blackmore fired the backing members and continued with Dio until 1979. Three British musicians joined in 1979—singer Graham Bonnet, keyboardist Don Airey and then-former Deep Purple bassist Roger Glover—and this line-up gave the band their commercial breakthrough with the single "Since You Been Gone". Over the years Rainbow went through many personnel changes, with each studio album recorded with a different lineup, and leaving Blackmore as the band's only constant member. The singers Joe Lynn Turner and Doogie White followed Bonnet, and numerous backing musicians have come and gone. In addition to Blackmore, Rainbow's current lineup includes Ronnie Romero on vocals, Jens Johansson on keyboards, Bob Nouveau on bass and David Keith on drums.

    A pioneer of power metal, the band's early work primarily featured mystical lyrics with a neoclassical metal style, but went in a more streamlined, commercial direction following Dio's departure from the group.

    Rainbow were ranked No. 90 on VH1's 100 Greatest Artists of Hard Rock. The band have sold over 28 million records worldwide, with 1,420,000 copies in the UK.

    On Stage is a live album originally released by Rainbow in 1977 on Oyster - Polydor SPDLP6B (2657 016). The album features a cover of a song from Blackmore's previous band Deep Purple: "Mistreated".

    The album was recorded live over several German and Japanese dates in late 1976 during the Rising world tour. Many of the tracks were spliced together from different dates by producer Martin Birch, and the running order was changed to more easily fit four sides of vinyl.

    The recording features the customary introduction to a Rainbow show – the classic quote from The Wizard of Oz, "Toto: I have a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore. We must be over the rainbow!" with the last word repeated as an echo, then the actual band plays a musical phrase from the song "Over the Rainbow" before breaking into "Kill the King".

    A more representative example of a Rainbow concert of the time was the 1991 release Live in Germany, which featured unedited concert performances and includes both tour staple "Stargazer" and the usual encore "Do You Close Your Eyes".

    Track listing

    Side one
    1. "Kill the King" (Ritchie Blackmore, Ronnie James Dio, Cozy Powell) – 5:32
    2. "Medley: Man on the Silver Mountain/Blues/Starstruck" (Blackmore, Dio)/(Blackmore)/(Blackmore, Dio) – 11:12
    Side two
    1. "Catch the Rainbow" (Blackmore, Dio) – 15:35
    Side three
    1. "Mistreated" (Blackmore, David Coverdale) – 13:03
    Side four
    1. "Sixteenth Century Greensleeves" (Blackmore, Dio) – 7:36
    2. "Still I'm Sad" (Paul Samwell-Smith, Jim McCarty) – 11:01


    • Ritchie Blackmore – Guitar
    • Ronnie James Dio – Vocals
    • Tony Carey – Keyboards, Orchestron
    • Jimmy Bain – Bass Guitar
    • Cozy Powell – Drums

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 2657016
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £17.99

    • Ex Tax: £17.99