• Santana - Abraxas
    (CBS Records  1970  S64087)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
    - some slight wear to edges

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Santana is an American Latin rock band formed in San Francisco, California in 1966 by Mexican-American guitarist Carlos Santana. The band first came to widespread public attention when their performance of "Soul Sacrifice" at Woodstock in 1969 provided a contrast to other acts on the bill. This exposure helped propel their first album, also named Santana, into a hit, followed in the next two years by the successful Abraxas and Santana III.

    In the years that followed, lineup changes were common. Carlos Santana's increasing involvement with guru Sri Chinmoy took the band into more esoteric music, though never quite losing its initial Latin influence.

    In 1998, Santana was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, with Carlos Santana, Jose "Chepito" Areas, David Brown, Gregg Rolie, Mike Carabello and Michael Shrieve being honored.

    The band has earned nine Grammy Awards and three Latin Grammy Awards, the latter all in 2000. Carlos also won a Grammy Award as a solo artist in 1988. Santana has sold more than 90 million records worldwide, making them one of the world's best-selling groups of all time. In 2013, Santana announced a reunion of the classic line-up for a new record, Santana IV, which was released in April 2016. They are tied for having the most won Grammys in one night.

    Abraxas is the second studio album by the Latin-influenced rock band Santana. Consolidating the interest generated by their first album, Santana (released in May 1969), and their highly acclaimed live performance at the Woodstock Festival in August 1969, the band followed-up with Abraxas in September 1970. The album's mix of rock, blues, jazz, salsa and other influences was very well received, showing a musical maturation from their first album and refining the band's early sound.

    Track listing

    LP side 1  
    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    1. "Singing Winds, Crying Beasts" (Instrumental) Mike Carabello 4:51
    2. "Black Magic Woman / Gypsy Queen"   Peter Green / Gábor Szabó 5:22
    3. "Oye Como Va"   Tito Puente 4:16
    4. "Incident at Neshabur" (Instrumental) Alberto Gianquinto, Carlos Santana 4:57
    LP side 2  
    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    1. "Se a Cabo"   José Areas 2:50
    2. "Mother's Daughter"   Gregg Rolie 4:25
    3. "Samba pa Ti" (Instrumental) Santana 4:54
    4. "Hope You're Feeling Better"   Rolie 4:11
    5. "El Nicoya"   Areas 1:30


    • Carlos Santana – lead guitar, backing vocals, producer
    • Gregg Rolie – keyboards, lead vocals
    • David Brown – bass
    • Michael Shrieve – drums
    • José "Chepito" Areas – percussion, conga, timbales
    • Mike Carabello – percussion, conga

    Additional personnel

    • Rico Reyes – percussion, backing vocals
    • Alberto Gianquinto – piano on "Incident at Neshabur"
    • Steven Saphore – tabla
    • Robert Venosa – artwork, graphic design
    • John Fiore David Brown – Audio engineer
    • Mati Klarwein – illustrations
    • Robert Honablue – mastering engineer original recording

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: S64087
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £20.99

    • Ex Tax: £20.99