• Wishbone Ash - Just Testing
    (MCA Records  1980  201317320)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1

    Sleeve in Excellent/Very Good+ condition
     - some wear to edges and some ringwear
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
    - a little wear along top edge

    Vinyl in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

    Wishbone Ash are a British rock band who achieved success in the early and mid-1970s. Their popular albums included Wishbone Ash (1970), Pilgrimage (1971), Argus (1972), There's the Rub (1974), and New England (1976). Wishbone Ash are noted for their extensive use of the harmony twin lead guitar format which had been attracting electric blues bands since Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page had played together in the Yardbirds in 1966. Their contributions helped Andy Powell and Ted Turner to be voted "Two of the Ten Most Important Guitarists in Rock History" (Traffic magazine 1989), and to appear in the "Top 20 Guitarists of All Time" (Rolling Stone). Melody Maker (1972) described Powell and Turner as "the most interesting two guitar team since the days when Beck and Page graced The Yardbirds".

    Formed in Torquay, Devon, in 1969, out of the ashes of trio The Empty Vessels (originally known as The Torinoes, later briefly being renamed Tanglewood in 1969), which had been formed by Wishbone Ash's founding member Martin Turner (bass & vocals) in 1963 and complemented by Steve Upton (drums and percussion) in 1966. The original Wishbone Ash line-up was completed by guitarists/vocalists Andy Powell and Ted Turner. In 1974, Ted Turner left the band, and was replaced by Laurie Wisefield. The band continued on with strong critical and commercial success until 1980.

    After revolving line-ups featuring former bass players from King Crimson (John Wetton), Uriah Heep (Trevor Bolder), and Trapeze (Mervyn Spence), Wisefield left in 1985. In 1987, however, the original line-up reunited for several albums – Nouveau Calls, Here to Hear and Strange Affair – until 1990, when Upton quit the band. After Martin Turner was replaced in 1991, the band recorded The Ash Live in Chicago, before Ted Turner left in 1993.

    Just Testing is the tenth studio album by the British rock band Wishbone Ash, released on 18 January 1980 by MCA Records. Recorded primarily at Surrey Sound Studios in England, it was the last to feature the original lead vocalist and bass guitarist Martin Turner until the release of Nouveau Calls (1987).

    Track listing

    All tracks written by Martin Turner, except where noted.

    Side one
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    1. "Living Proof" Laurie Wisefield, Claire Hamill 5:44
    2. "Haunting Me"   4:34
    3. "Insomnia"   5:10
    4. "Helpless" Paul Kendrick 4:03
    Side two
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    5. "Pay the Price"   3:35
    6. "New Rising Star"   3:58
    7. "Master of Disguise" Andy Powell 4:26
    8. "Lifeline" Turner, Powell, Wisefield, Steve Upton 6:29
    Total length: 38:00


    Wishbone Ash

    • Andy Powell – electric and acoustic guitars, back vocals
    • Laurie Wisefield – electric and acoustic guitars, back vocals
    • Martin Turner – lead vocals, bass guitar, acoustic guitar, back vocals; co-producer
    • Steve Upton – drums and percussion

    Additional musicians

    • Claire Hamill – vocals (on "Living Proof", "Pay the Price" and "Master of Disguise")
    • Ian Kew – organ (on "Master of Disguise")

    Technical personnel

    • John Sherry – co-producer
    • Martin Moss – engineer
    • Bob Broglia – engineer
    • Colin Elgie – sleeve design
    • Hipgnosis – photography and art direction


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 201317320
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £4.99

    • Ex Tax: £4.99