• Dire Straits - On Every Street
    (Vertigo Records  1991  5101601)
    Matrix No's: A5/B6 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Excellent+ condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Dire Straits were a British rock band that formed in Deptford, London, in 1977 by Mark Knopfler (lead vocals and lead guitar), his younger brother David Knopfler (rhythm guitar and backing vocals), John Illsley (bass guitar and backing vocals), and Pick Withers (drums and percussion). Dire Straits' sound drew from a variety of musical influences, including jazz, folk, and blues, and came closest to beat music within the context of rock and roll. Despite the prominence of punk rock during the band's early years, their stripped-down sound contrasted with punk, demonstrating a more "rootsy" influence that emerged from pub rock. Many of Dire Straits' compositions were melancholic.

    Dire Straits' biggest selling album, 1985's Brothers in Arms has sold over 30 million copies, and was the first album to sell a million copies on the then new compact disc (CD) format. They also became one of the world's most commercially successful bands, with worldwide record sales of over 100 million. Dire Straits won four Grammy Awards, three Brit Awards—winning Best British Group twice, two MTV Video Music Awards, and various other music awards. The band's songs include "Money for Nothing", "Sultans of Swing", "So Far Away", "Walk of Life", "Brothers in Arms", "Private Investigations", "Romeo and Juliet", "Tunnel of Love", "Telegraph Road", and "Lady Writer".

    According to the Guinness Book of British Hit Albums, Dire Straits have spent over 1,100 weeks on the UK albums chart, ranking fifth all-time. Their career spanned a combined total of 15 years. They originally split up in 1988, but reformed in 1991, and disbanded for good in 1995 when Mark Knopfler launched his solo career full-time. There were several changes in personnel over both periods, leaving Mark Knopfler and John Illsley as the only two original bandmates who remained throughout the band's career.

    On Every Street is the sixth and final studio album by British rock band Dire Straits, released on 10 September 1991 by Vertigo Records internationally, and by Warner Bros. Records in the United States. The follow-up to the band's massively successful album Brothers in Arms, On Every Street reached the top of the UK albums chart and was also certified platinum by the RIAA.

    Track listing

    All songs were written by Mark Knopfler.

    No. Title Length  
    1. "Calling Elvis"   6:26
    2. "On Every Street"   5:04
    3. "When It Comes to You"   5:01
    4. "Fade to Black"   3:50
    5. "The Bug"   4:16
    6. "You and Your Friend"   5:59
    7. "Heavy Fuel"   5:10
    8. "Iron Hand"   3:09
    9. "Ticket to Heaven"   4:25
    10. "My Parties"   5:33
    11. "Planet of New Orleans"   7:48
    12. "How Long"   3:49
    Total length:


    Dire Straits
    • Mark Knopfler – vocals, guitar
    • John Illsley – bass
    • Alan Clark – organ, piano, synthesizer
    • Guy Fletcher – synthesizer, backing vocals
    Additional musicians
    • Danny Cummings – percussion
    • Paul Franklin – pedal steel guitar, acoustic lap steel (6)
    • Vince Gill – guitar, backing vocals (5)
    • Manu Katché – percussion, drums (1,7,11)
    • George Martin – conductor, string arrangements (9)
    • Phil Palmer – guitar
    • Jeff Porcaro – drums, percussion
    • Chris White – flute, saxophone
    • Mark Knopfler and Dire Straits – producers
    • Chuck Ainlay – engineer
    • Bill Schnee – engineer
    • Steve Orchard – assistant engineer
    • Jack Joseph Puig – assistant engineer
    • Andy Strange – assistant engineer
    • Neil Dorfsman – mixing
    • Bob Clearmountain – mixing (7)
    • Jo Motta – project coordinator
    • Paul Williams – photography
    • Sutton Cooper – design
    • Paul Cummins – design

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 5101601
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £27.99

    • Ex Tax: £27.99