• Pink Floyd - A Saucerful Of Secrets
    (Columbia Records  1968  SX6258  Mono)
    Matrix No's: XAX3633-1/XAX3634-1 - UK Pressing

    G&L Flipback Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
    - some wear along the opening edge
    White Poly Lined Inner Sleeve with "British Patent No. 1072844 & 1125555"

     Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)


    Pink Floyd were an English rock band formed in London. They achieved international acclaim with their progressive and psychedelic music. Distinguished by their use of philosophical lyrics, sonic experimentation, extended compositions and elaborate live shows, they are one of the most commercially successful and influential groups in the history of popular music.

    Pink Floyd were founded in 1965 by students Syd Barrett on guitar and lead vocals, Nick Mason on drums, Roger Waters on bass and vocals, and Richard Wright on keyboards and vocals. They gained popularity performing in London's underground music scene during the late 1960s, and under Barrett's leadership released two charting singles and a successful debut album, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967). Guitarist David Gilmour joined in December 1967; Barrett left in April 1968 due to deteriorating mental health. Waters became the band's primary lyricist and conceptual leader, devising the concepts behind their albums The Dark Side of the Moon (1973), Wish You Were Here (1975), Animals (1977), The Wall (1979) and The Final Cut (1983). The Dark Side of the Moon and The Wall became two of the best-selling albums of all time.

    Following creative tensions, Wright left Pink Floyd in 1979, followed by Waters in 1985. Gilmour and Mason continued as Pink Floyd; Wright rejoined them as a session musician and, later, a band member. The three produced two more albums, A Momentary Lapse of Reason (1987) and The Division Bell (1994), and toured until 1994. After nearly two decades of acrimony, Pink Floyd reunited with Waters in 2005 for a performance in London as part of the global awareness event Live 8, but Gilmour and Waters have since stated they have no plans to reunite as a band again. Barrett died in 2006 and Wright in 2008. The final Pink Floyd studio album, The Endless River (2014), was recorded without Waters and largely based on unreleased material.

    Pink Floyd were inducted into the American Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1996, and the UK Music Hall of Fame in 2005. By 2013, the band had sold more than 250 million records worldwide, including 75 million certified units in the US.

    A Saucerful of Secrets is the second studio album by the English rock band Pink Floyd. It was recorded at EMI's Abbey Road Studios on various dates from August 1967 to April 1968 and was released on 29 June 1968, through EMI Columbia in the United Kingdom, while the album was released on 27 July 1968 in the United States by Tower.

    The album was recorded before and after Syd Barrett's departure from the group. Owing to Barrett's behaviour becoming increasingly unpredictable, David Gilmour was recruited in January 1968. As a result, A Saucerful of Secrets became the only non-compilation Pink Floyd album on which all five band members appeared, the first for Gilmour, with him appearing on five songs ("Let There Be More Light", "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun", "Corporal Clegg", "A Saucerful of Secrets" and "See-Saw"), and the last for Barrett, with him on three ("Remember a Day", "Jugband Blues" and "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun"). "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun" was the only song all five members appeared on together. Drummer Nick Mason declared A Saucerful of Secrets his favourite Pink Floyd album.

    Track listing

    Side one
    No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
    1. "Let There Be More Light"   Roger Waters Richard Wright, Waters, David Gilmour 5:38
    2. "Remember a Day"   Wright Wright 4:33
    3. "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun"   Waters Waters 5:28
    4. "Corporal Clegg"   Waters Gilmour, Nick Mason, Wright 4:13
    Side two
    No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
    1. "A Saucerful of Secrets"
    • I. "Something Else"
    • II. "Syncopated Pandemonium"
    • III. "Storm Signal"
    • IV. "Celestial Voices"  
    Waters, Wright, Gilmour, Mason Instrumental, wordless vocals by Gilmour, Wright 11:57
    2. "See-Saw"   Wright Wright 4:36
    3. "Jugband Blues"   Syd Barrett Barrett 3:00


    Pink Floyd

    (all personnel uncredited)

    • Roger Waters – bass guitar, percussion, vocals
    • Richard Wright – piano, organ, mellotron, vibraphone, xylophone, vocals, tin whistle on "Jugband Blues"
    • David Gilmour – guitar, kazoo, vocal
    • Nick Mason – drums, percussion, vocals on "Corporal Clegg", kazoo on "Jugband Blues"
    • Syd Barrett – acoustic and slide guitar on "Remember a Day", guitar on "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun", vocals and guitar on "Jugband Blues"
    Additional personnel
    • Norman Smith – producer, drums and backing vocals on "Remember a Day", voice on "Corporal Clegg"
    • The Salvation Army (The International Staff Band) on "Jugband Blues"

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: SX6258
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £500.99

    • Ex Tax: £500.99