• Gerry Mulligan Quartet with Chet Baker
    (Giants Of Jazz Records  1990  LPJT61)

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    Gerald Joseph "Gerry" Mulligan (April 6, 1927 – January 20, 1996) was an American jazz saxophonist, clarinetist, composer and arranger. Though Mulligan is primarily known as one of the leading baritone saxophonists in jazz history – playing the instrument with a light and airy tone in the era of cool jazz – he was also a notable arranger, working with Claude Thornhill, Miles Davis, Stan Kenton, and others. Mulligan's pianoless quartet of the early 1950s with trumpeter Chet Baker is still regarded as one of the more important cool jazz groups. Mulligan was also a skilled pianist and played several other reed instruments. Mulligan reportedly had a relationship with actress Judy Holliday until she died in 1965, and with actress Sandy Dennis from 1965 through 1973. In 1974 Mulligan met his future wife, Countess Franca Rota Borghini Baldovinetti, in Milan, Italy.

    Chesney Henry "Chet" Baker Jr. (December 23, 1929 – May 13, 1988) was an American jazz trumpeter and vocalist. He is known for major innovations within the cool jazz subgenre leading him to be nicknamed the "prince of cool".

    Baker earned much attention and critical praise through the 1950s, particularly for albums featuring his vocals (Chet Baker Sings, It Could Happen to You). Jazz historian Dave Gelly described the promise of Baker's early career as "James Dean, Sinatra, and Bix, rolled into one." His well-publicized drug habit also drove his notoriety and fame. Baker was in and out of jail frequently before enjoying a career resurgence in the late 1970s and 1980s.


    A1 Line For Lyons 2:29
    A2 Walking Shoes 3:10
    A3 Love Me Or Leave Me 2:39
    A4 Carioca 2:23
    A5 Freeway 2:43
    A6 Moonlight In Vermont 4:03
    A7 The Lady Is A Tramp 3:09
    A8 My Funny Valentine 3:13
    B1 Bernie's Tune 2:50
    B2 Swing House 2:53
    B3 Lullaby Of The Leaves 3:13
    B4 The Nearness Of You 2:49
    B5 Bark For Barksdale 3:10
    B6 I May Be Wrong 2:56
    B7 I'm Beginning To See The Light 3:06
    B8 Turnstile 2:53


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: LPJT61
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £8.99

    • Ex Tax: £8.99