• Bruce Springsteen - Born In The USA
    (CBS Records  1984  86304)
    Matrix No's: A2/B2 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    - some slight wear to edges
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Lyric Insert in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Bruce Frederick Joseph Springsteen (born September 23, 1949) is an American singer-songwriter. He is best known for his work with the E Street Band. Nicknamed "The Boss", Springsteen is widely known for his brand of poetic lyrics, Americana, working class and sometimes political sentiments centered on his native New Jersey, his distinctive voice, and his lengthy and energetic stage performances—with concerts from the 1970s to the present decade running at up to four hours in length.

    Springsteen's recordings have included both commercially accessible rock albums and more somber folk-oriented works. His most successful studio albums, Born to Run (1975) and Born in the U.S.A. (1984), showcase a talent for finding grandeur in the struggles of daily American life. He has sold more 120 million records worldwide and more than 64 million records in the United States, making him one of the world's best-selling artists of all time. He has earned numerous awards for his work, including 20 Grammy Awards, two Golden Globes, and an Academy Award as well as being inducted into both the Songwriters Hall of Fame and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1999. In 2009, Springsteen was a Kennedy Center Honors recipient, in 2013 was named MusiCares person of the year and in 2016 was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

    He married Patti Scialfa in 1991, and the couple have had three children – Evan James, Jessica Rae and Sam Ryan.

    Born in the U.S.A. is the seventh studio album by American rock singer-songwriter Bruce Springsteen, released on June 4, 1984. A critical and commercial triumph, it found Springsteen marking a departure in his sound. While its predecessor, the dark and acoustic Nebraska, featured songs of pessimism and isolation, Born in the U.S.A.'s lyrics expressed signs of hope in the daily fight of the ordinary American in following the American Dream, a new feeling complemented by synthesized arrangements and a pop-flavored, radio-oriented sound that helped Springsteen to extend his popularity and appeal to mainstream audiences. The album was supported by an enormous commercial campaign that helped create several hit singles, as well as remixes and music videos.

    Born in the U.S.A. was the best-selling album of 1985 in the United States (and also Springsteen's most successful album ever), selling 15 million copies in the U.S alone, and 30 million worldwide. The album produced a record-tying string of seven Top 10 singles (tied with Michael Jackson's Thriller and Janet Jackson's Rhythm Nation 1814) and also a worldwide concert tour (the two-year Born in the U.S.A. Tour) that was a success. The album was lauded by most critics and is often considered one of Springsteen's finest albums (Rolling Stone magazine rated it the 86th-greatest album of all time, his second on the list) along with his 1975 breakthrough, Born to Run. The scathing condemnation of the title track is often misinterpreted as a patriotic anthem as a result of the repeating chorus. Its cover (a close-up of Springsteen's rear in front of an American flag, as he was photographed by Annie Leibovitz) became an iconic image of the era.

    Track listing

    All songs written by Bruce Springsteen.

    Side one
    1. "Born in the U.S.A." – 4:39
    2. "Cover Me" – 3:27
    3. "Darlington County" – 4:48
    4. "Working on the Highway" – 3:11
    5. "Downbound Train" – 3:35
    6. "I'm on Fire" – 2:37
    Side two
    1. "No Surrender" – 4:00
    2. "Bobby Jean" – 3:46
    3. "I'm Goin' Down" – 3:29
    4. "Glory Days" – 4:15
    5. "Dancing in the Dark" – 4:00
    6. "My Hometown" – 4:34


    The E Street Band
    • Bruce Springsteen – lead vocals, lead guitar, acoustic guitar
    • Roy Bittan – piano, synthesizer, background vocals
    • Clarence Clemons – saxophone, percussion, background vocals
    • Danny Federici – organ, glockenspiel, piano on "Born in the U.S.A."
    • Garry Tallent – bass guitar, background vocals
    • Steven Van Zandt – acoustic guitar, mandolin, harmony vocals
    • Max Weinberg – drums, background vocals
    Additional musicians
    • Richie "La Bamba" Rosenberg – background vocals on "Cover Me" and "No Surrender"
    • Ruth Davis, married to Bruce Jackson, the sound engineer – background vocals on "My Hometown"
    • Bob Clearmountain – mixing
    • John Davenport – assistant engineer
    • Jeff Hendrickson – assistant engineer
    • Andrea Klein – art direction, design, cover design
    • Bruce Lampcov – assistant engineer
    • Annie Leibovitz – photography
    • Bob Ludwig – mastering
    • Bill Scheniman – engineer
    • Toby Scott – engineer
    • Billy Straus – assistant engineer
    • Zoe Yanakis – assistant engineer


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: 86304
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £8.99

    • Ex Tax: £8.99