• Phil Collins - Serious Hits...Live!
    (Virgin Records  1990  PCLP1)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1/C3/D4 - UK Pressing

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Inner Sleeves in Nr MINT condition

    Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

    Philip David Charles "Phil" Collins LVO (born 30 January 1951) is an English singer, songwriter, instrumentalist, record producer and actor. He is best known as the drummer and lead singer in the rock band Genesis and as a solo artist. Between 1983 and 1990, Collins scored three UK and seven US number-one singles in his solo career. When his work with Genesis, his work with other artists, as well as his solo career is totalled, Collins had more US Top 40 singles than any other artist during the 1980s. His most successful singles from the period include "In the Air Tonight", "Against All Odds (Take a Look at Me Now)", "One More Night", "Sussudio" and "Another Day in Paradise".

    Born and raised in West London, Collins played drums from the age of five and completed drama school training, which secured him various roles as a child actor. He then pursued a music career, joining Genesis in 1970 as their drummer and becoming lead singer in 1975 following the departure of Peter Gabriel. Collins began a solo career in the 1980s, initially inspired by his marital breakdown and love of soul music, releasing a series of successful albums, including Face Value (1981), No Jacket Required (1985), and ...But Seriously (1989). Collins became "one of the most successful pop and adult contemporary singers of the '80s and beyond". He also became known for a distinctive gated reverb drum sound on many of his recordings. After leaving Genesis in 1996, Collins pursued various solo projects before a return in 2007 for the Turn It On Again Tour. In 2011, he retired to focus on his family life, but continued to write songs. He announced his return to the music industry in 2015. He will perform live for the first time in 10 years with a European tour in July 2017, including a five night residency at the Royal Albert Hall in London, and his biggest ever solo show in Hyde Park, London.

    Collins' discography includes eight studio albums that have sold 33.5 million certified units in the US and an estimated 150 million worldwide, making him one of the world's best-selling artists. He is one of three recording artists, along with Paul McCartney and Michael Jackson, who have sold over 100 million records worldwide both as solo artists and separately as principal members of a band. He has won seven Grammy Awards, six Brit Awards, two Golden Globe Awards, an Academy Award, and a Disney Legend Award. In 1999, he received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame and was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2003, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Genesis in 2010, the Modern Drummer Hall of Fame in 2012, and the Classic Drummer Hall of Fame in 2013. Despite his commercial success and his status as a respected and influential drummer, music critics are divided in their opinion of his work and he has publicly received both criticism and praise from other prominent music artists.

    Serious Hits... Live! is the name of Phil Collins' 1990 live album. The songs on the album  are taken from various concerts during the Serious Hits! tour, though it sounds as if the album was recorded over one entire concert. It was recorded during the Seriously, Live! World Tour.


    Instead of providing a live concert experience, they took the approach of putting a "hits only" selection for the album. The album has a very "stadium crowd feel" quality that various other live albums from the early 1990s had.

    The live video and DVD version features one entire concert. The concert captures a live performance at Berlin's Waldbühne on 15 July 1990, which Collins has hailed as his best performance due to the energy of the German people after the fall of the Berlin wall. On the final song of the album, Collins thanks the fans in Chicago. The DVD presents an in-depth personal look at his solo concert experience. Special moments include the crowd not allowing the concert to continue with prolonged applause after "Something Happened on the Way to Heaven" and the lighter vigil during "Doesn't Anybody Stay Together Anymore".

    CD track listing

    1. "Something Happened on the Way to Heaven" – 4:59 (Collins/Stuermer)
    2. "Against All Odds (Take a Look at Me Now)" – 3:28 (Collins)
    3. "Who Said I Would" – 4:28 (Collins)
    4. "One More Night" – 5:49 (Collins)
    5. "Don't Lose My Number" – 4:42 (Collins)
    6. "Do You Remember?" – 5:40 (Collins)
    7. "Another Day in Paradise" – 5:36 (Collins)
    8. "Separate Lives" – 5:16 (Stephen Bishop)
    9. "In the Air Tonight" – 6:35 (Collins)
    10. "You Can't Hurry Love" – 2:54 (Lamont Dozier/Eddie Holland/Brian Holland)
    11. "Two Hearts" – 3:07 (Collins/Dozier)
    12. "Sussudio" – 7:14 (Collins)
    13. "A Groovy Kind of Love" - 3:25 (Carole Bayer Sager/Toni Wine)
    14. "Easy Lover" – 4:46 (Phillip Bailey/Collins/Nathan East)
    15. "Take Me Home" – 8:39 (Collins)

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: PCLP1
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £15.99

    • Ex Tax: £15.99