• Jimi Hendrix - Crash Landing
    (Columbia/Sundazed Records  2008  LP5211)

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
    - some wear to edges/corners

    The United States of America was an American experimental rock band founded in Los Angeles in 1967 by composer Joseph Byrd and vocalist Dorothy Moskowitz, with electric violinist Gordon Marron, bassist Rand Forbes and drummer Craig Woodson. Their 1968 self-titled album, often cited as an early showcase for the use of electronic devices in rock music, was met with critical acclaim and minor chart success. They disbanded shortly after its release.

    The group’s sound was grounded in both psychedelia and the avant-garde. Unusually, the band had no guitar player; instead, they used strings, keyboards and electronics, including primitive synthesizers, and various audio processors, including the ring modulator. Many of the songs' lyrics reflected Byrd's leftist political views. AllMusic described them as "among the most revolutionary bands of the late '60s."

    The United States of America is the only studio album by American rock band the United States of America. Produced by David Rubinson, it was released in 1968 by Columbia Records. The album combined rock and electronic instrumentation, experimental composition, and lyrics reflecting leftist political themes.

    The United States of America received positive reviews on its release and charted at number 181 on the Billboard 200. The album has been reissued several times and continues to receive critical acclaim decades after its original release.

    Track listing

    All tracks are written by Joseph Byrd and Dorothy Moskowitz, except where noted.

    Side one
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    1. "The American Metaphysical Circus" Byrd 4:56
    2. "Hard Coming Love"   4:41
    3. "Cloud Song"   3:18
    4. "The Garden of Earthly Delights"   2:39
    5. "I Won't Leave My Wooden Wife for You, Sugar"   3:51
    Side two
    No. Title Writer(s) Length
    6. "Where Is Yesterday" Gordon Marron, Ed Bogas, Moskowitz 3:08
    7. "Coming Down"   2:37
    8. "Love Song for the Dead Ché" Byrd 3:25
    9. "Stranded in Time" Marron, Bogas 1:49
    10. "The American Way of Love" (divided into the segments:
    1. "Metaphor for an Older Man" (Byrd)
    2. "California Good-Time Music" (Byrd)
    3. "Love Is All" (Byrd, Moskowitz, Rand Forbes, Craig Woodson, Marron))


    The United States of America

    • Joseph Byrd – electronic music, electric harpsichord, organ, calliope, piano, vocals
    • Dorothy Moskowitz – lead vocals
    • Gordon Marron – electric violin, ring modulator, vocals (on "Where Is Yesterday" and "Stranded in Time")
    • Rand Forbes – electric bass
    • Craig Woodson – electric drums, percussion

    Additional musicians

    • Ed Bogas – occasional organ, piano, calliope
    • Don Ellis – trumpet (on "I Won't Leave My Wooden Wife for You, Sugar")

    Technical staff

    • Glen Kolotkin – remixing
    • Arthur Kendy – remixing
    • Richard Durrett – instrument design engineering
    • David Diller – engineering
    • David Rubinson – production


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: LP5211
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £20.99

    • Ex Tax: £20.99