• Sham 69 - The Adventures Of Hersham Boys
    (Polydor Records  1979  POLD5025)
    Matrix No's: A4/B4/A5/B5 - UK Pressing

    Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent++ condition
    - some slight wear to edges/corners & small sticker mark in top right corner

    Sham 69 are an English punk rock band that formed in Hersham in 1976. The band was one of the most successful punk bands in the United Kingdom, achieving five Top 20 singles. The original unit broke up in 1979, with frontman Jimmy Pursey moving on to pursue a solo career.

    In 1987 Pursey and guitarist David Parsons reformed the band, joined by new personnel. Although subsequently going through a number of lineup changes, Sham 69 remained active and was still playing shows as of 2014.

    The Adventures of the Hersham Boys is an album by punk band Sham 69, released in 1979. It's their most successful album to date, charting at #8 in the UK. It was not universally well received, with David Hepworth describing it as "A tired, hollow effort struggling between weary attempts at rabble-rousing and blush-making pseudo-Springsteen 'street' songs that reek of desperation and contract fulfilling. As empty and self-satisfied a record as anything they supposedly set out to replace."


    All songs by Jimmy Pursey and Dave Parsons unless noted

    1. "Money" - 3:13
    2. "Fly Dark Angel" - 3:03
    3. "Joey's on the Street Again" - 3:04
    4. "Cold Blue in the Night" - 2:47 (Dave "Kermit" Treganna)
    5. "You're a Better Man Than I" - 3:10 (Hug) (Yardbirds/Manfred Mann Chapter Three cover)
    6. "Hersham Boys" - 4:46
    7. "Lost on Highway 46" - 3:35
    8. "Voices" - 2:52 (Goldstein/Pursey)
    9. "Questions and Answers" - 3:14
    10. "What Have We Got (Live)" - 2:54
    C   Borstal Breakout    
    D   If The Kids Are United


    • Jimmy Pursey - vocals, producer
    • Dave Parsons - guitar
    • Dave Treganna - bass
    • Ricky Goldstein - drums
    • Mark Cain - Drums (Departing Sham 69 soon after the completion)
    • Peter Wilson - producer
    • Jo Mirowski - art direction, design
    • Peter Lavery - photography
    • Tim Turan - mastering
    • Brett Ewins - illustrations

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: POLD5025
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £17.99

    • Ex Tax: £17.99