• Asia - Debut
    (Geffen Records  1982  GEF85577)
    Matrix No's: A2/B2 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
    - some slight wear - couple of marks in top left corner - back cover has some marks near spine edge
    Insert has some foxing/discolouration spots

    Vinyl in Nr MINT- condition

    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle - there is a mark across side 2 but it’s not audible)

    Asia are an English progressive rock band formed in London in 1981. The most commercially successful line-up was its original, which was a supergroup of four members of different progressive rock bands of the 1970s, including lead vocalist and bassist John Wetton of King Crimson, guitarist Steve Howe of Yes, keyboardist Geoff Downes of Yes and The Buggles, and drummer Carl Palmer of Emerson, Lake & Palmer. Their debut album, Asia, released in 1982, remains their best selling album and went to number one in several countries.

    The band have undergone multiple lineup changes during its history, but in 2006, the original lineup reunited. As a result, a band called Asia Featuring John Payne exists as a continuation of John Payne's career as Asia's frontman from 1991 until Wetton's return in 2006. In 2013, the original line-up was broken once again when Howe retired from the band to focus on Yes and pursue other projects and was replaced by guitarist Sam Coulson. After several years of hiatus due to Wetton's health, he died of cancer on January 31, 2017, and was replaced by Billy Sherwood of Yes.

    Asia is the self-titled debut studio album by British supergroup Asia, released in 1982. It contains the band's biggest hit and signature song, "Heat of the Moment", which reached #4 in the US on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

    The cover artwork was created by Roger Dean, known for his work with Yes and Uriah Heep.

    Upon its release in March 1982, Asia received considerable commercial success, reaching #1 in the US and spending nine weeks at the top of the Billboard 200 chart. According to Billboard it was the best-selling album in the United States for the year 1982. Asia was certified 4x Platinum in the US by the RIAA on 10 February 1995.

    In the band's native UK, Asia didn't perform as well as in the US, peaking only at #11. At the same time, it spent totally 38 weeks in the UK Albums Chart. The record received a Gold status in Britain on 18 October 1982. "Heat of the Moment" climbed to disappointing #46.

    Track listing

    Side one  
    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    1. "Heat of the Moment"   Wetton / Downes 03:50
    2. "Only Time Will Tell"   Wetton / Downes 04:44
    3. "Sole Survivor"   Wetton / Downes 04:48
    4. "One Step Closer"   Wetton / Howe 04:16
    5. "Time Again"   Downes / Howe / Palmer / Wetton 04:45
    Side two  
    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    6. "Wildest Dreams"   Wetton / Downes 05:10
    7. "Without You"   Wetton / Howe 05:04
    8. "Cutting It Fine"   Wetton / Downes / Howe 05:35
    9. "Here Comes the Feeling"   Wetton / Howe 05:42
    Total length:



    • Geoff Downes – keyboards and vocals
    • Steve Howe – guitars and vocals
    • Carl Palmer – drums and percussion
    • John Wetton – lead vocal and bass guitar

    Technical personnel

    • Produced and engineered by Mike Stone
    • Recorded in June-November 1981 at Townhouse Studios in London
    • Cover design – Roger Dean
    • Inner sleeve photo – Brian Griffin

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: GEF85577
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £4.99

    • Ex Tax: £4.99